10 Pleasures in January

The fairy is a punk, wearing tartan. ;)
  1. Starting all over. A new year is a great chance for changes! You can stat with a new hair colour, a new style, a brand new attitude and your new year’s resolutions. When it comes to me, I had my tips cut (finally) and dyed my hair again and went into the new year with the resolution to wear more Lolita.
  2. Music of the 20s and 30s. We watched a concert of Max Raabe and his Palast Orchestra on Christmas Eve which was a delight for the whole family: My grandfather ventured a little dance with my mother and the rest of us – my grandmother, her sister and I – couldn’t keep our feet from dancing, either. I simply love those old chansons and am sad that they don’t play songs like these in our dance halls.
  3. Art Nouveau. The floral designs of this turn-of-the-century style of art I’m really taken with. The German term for Art Nouveau is Jugendstil which comes from the name of a magazine, Jugend, meaning youth, with adorable illustrations. The clothing of that time is really interesting, too, lots of beadwork and silk chiffon, as well as the typography with flowing lines, the art of Alphonse Mucha, the presumably most widely known Art Nouveau artist and the architecture that looks like is had grown out of stone like a willow of Antoni Gaudí.
  4. Dark Red Lipstick. Because it looks way more dramatic than plain old glaring red that could be easily seen as the attire of a painted woman, if you know what I mean.
  5. My Laptop. I got it at noon at Christmas Eve, just when Jules arrived at the gates of my castle, too. I’m not very good with technical stuff, but it is pretty impossible to work for university without a computer and with my new little fellow here I can also work at the train when I’m heading to my mother’s for the weekend. The only thing that I’ll change about my notebook is that I’ll design a cover for it, as it is not that pretty at all.
  6. Tartan. I mostly wear Black Watch as there is no clan restriction to it, e.g. my kilt mini that I brought back from Edinburgh as a souvenir. I wish I wouldn’t be that aware of the clan thing for I could wear other tartans then, as well, but one of my best friends, the wereterrier, is of Scottish heritage, so I don’t really want to mess around with that… But I’d really like a Punk Lolita dress out of tartan fabric.
  7. Wool. Woollen clothing is not only comfortable but also quite sensible. I own three pullover (one blue, one of the colour of blackberries and one in Scandinavian style from Norway), some woollen tights that I love dearly and, of course, my kilt and an unmanageable amount of socks. Oh. And scarves. And gloves. And caps. I also spin, and raw wool is one of the most lovely things I have ever touched. Oh, and I love sheep, too!
  8. Inkscribble’s Sailor Moon re-designs on deviantart.com. I was absolutely amazed by her designs that combine the sweet side of Sailor Moon with Victorian style and a hint of Art Nouveau. The hair of some of the girls is quite like in the pictures of Alphonse Mucha, and the new dress is adorable.I don’t think that I could have done it better, but maybe I’ll try my own re-design of that characters some day, then with the more martial aspects of the series, I guess.
  9. Old Movies from black and white to Technicolor. I love the way they talk in those films because of their stage actor training, something that I would appreciate with modern times actors, too. Also, the clothes are wonderful and the weird blush on the character’s cheeks in Technicolor. Plus, they’re the proof that you can have a great film without loads of special effects, too.
  10. Gives You Hell, a song by The All-American Rejects. Seems as I stumbled into a major punk rock phase again (I’m listening to folk punk most of the time at the moment and also decided to form a folk punk band with some of my fellow students), and I love, love, love! the gaze and grin of the singer when he’s saying the “And truth be told, I’m lying!” line. Normally, I’m not too much into the tall, slim popular rocker type, but he’s simply too handsome *g*. And the song is just one of those instant-good-mood instruments.
Any thoughts?

