Sevenfold A Sew Along

Don’t mind the title, I just liked the rhythm of the rotating letters. It’s a linguists thing, I think.

The snow is slowly washed away by the rain and again I am sitting in Bambi’s room, this time for the simple reason that he is playing Fallout 3 at the moment and the soundtrack are some pretty good 40s tunes.

*sing*

I don’t want to set the world on fire
I just want to start a flame in your heart
In my heart I have but one desire
And that one is you no other will do

Some days ago, Jules and I decided to do a sew-along. We both are never out of sewing projects but rarely handle some of them if not forced to. So we looked for seven pieces to sew and here they are:

  1. Coat. Mine will be a black velveteen one with a high collar, nearly a dress with a small waist and a nice lining with a floral pattern. This will be the most expensive of the projects, but I’ve wanted a black velveteen coat for so long. This will be worth it.
  2. Trousers. A 70s look-a-like bootcut-bellbottom mix of greyish blue corduroy. I’ve already got the fabric and pattern in store, only the zipper is left needed, but I think my grandmother will be able to help me out with a matching one.
  3. Spats. They are not only quite sensible but also decorative and steampunky and I still have this wonderful herringbone patter wool. I’ll need some brass buttons, but I think this shouldn’t be a problem.
  4. Bag. I still need one for university when I don’t want to use my red-and-black chessboard one that’s somewhat uncomfortable sometimes and often too small or my large army survival rucksack. I recently discovered a tutorial for thicker plastic tarpaulin out of plastic bags, a nice recycling project and the bags of my favourite book store will make a perfect cover for a linguist’s bag with their letter print.I think it will be a messenger bag spacious enough for all my required stuff and an extra case for the laptop.
  5. Waistcoat. No special ideas here yet, sadly. Suggestions, anyone?
  6. Headgear. I really want a bonnet, so I’ll keep my eyes open for a pattern and some decent fabric.
  7. Shirt of Blouse. Well, I’ve got the pattern, the buttons and the fabric for a special pussy bow blouse (Is quite hard to find the English version of the German word Schluppenbluse, for those who don’t know, it’s a blouse with a large scarf attached to the collar that can be bound into a huge bow). I’m really fond of my idea and will surely show you the progress!

So this is our sew-along. I’m really looking forward to sewing again, and as I finally got my ironing board to Marburg, I’ll be able to start right now! So, if you excuse me…

Good-bye until next time!

2 thoughts on “Sevenfold A Sew Along

  1. Ich hoffe, du stellst die fertigen Stücke auch hier vor! Das klingt nämlich wunderbar, ich bin sehr gespannt.
    Das ist aber auch einiges, was ihr euch da vorgenommen habt – die Projekte sind ja doch recht groß. Besonders Ersteres und Fünfteres kann ich kaum erwarten!

    Bei Bedarf biete ich mich auch bei dir zum virtuellen in-den-Hintern-treten an; danke dir :)

    … und “Sevenfold A Sew Along” hat eine wirklich sehr angenehme Sprachmelodie.

  2. Natürlich stelle ich die Projekte hier vor, dazu ist der Blog ja da… ;)
    Ja, der Mantel wird wohl noch etwas dauern, einfach, weil da noch die Stoffbeschaffungsmaßnahmen anstehen. Naja.

    Mal ganz abgesehen davon, dass meine Nähliste eigentlich über eine Seite lang ist… ich überlege schon, mir dafür auf N&S ein Dauer-WIP anzulegen.

    Aber ich bin guter Hoffnung, dass ich dieses Wochenende loslege (-n kann).
    Danke schon im Vorraus für die virtuellen Tritte in den Hintern, ich weiß das wirklich zu schätzen!

Any thoughts?

