Of Celts, Boats and Gold Treasures

As I told you I went for a university excursion last weekend. It resulted in increased knowledge, immense tiredness and loads of photographs that I won’t show all at once but in a kind of thematic an chronologic order.

We started our journey south Friday morning. The Satyr forgot his shoes and went barefoot all weekend long as he was too lazy to walk back home and get some (that’s five minutes of way). At the station we met the rest of us and that was where we left the Scoundrel, too, who came with us as his train to Kassel came twenty minutes later.

What can I say, the train rides were wearisome, six hours are not that few. I brought The Diaries of Samuel Pepys – which was on my reading list anyway and which the Historian kindly lend to me – with me to read (and I got through it during these three days) and lots of sweets, too, to survive.

In the early evening we arrived in Eichstätt, a very catholic city in Bavaria with lots of nice, sugary late baroque buildings where our youth hostel – and therefore base – was set. We spent the evening at a tavern with pizza and pasta and with a guided tour around and then fell asleep quite soon as we had no time to sleep all morning on Saturday!

When the bus stopped at Manching my first thought was that I didn’t even want to hang dead over a fence in this village. But the museum was really, really grand. They have quite fantastic exhibits there, amongst other two Roman rowing boats, swords form La Tène and a treasure of unfinished bohemian coins of pure gold with a weight of nearly nine pounds.

Make that more than 100 ounces...

Well, on Sunday we went home again but not without a stop in Aschaffenburg, the town of my childhood, to visit the Celts exhibition in Johannisburg Castle where the exhibits were not as many, but very interesting, too. There was the normal museum, too, just as I remembered from the days when I was still in primary school and spend hours to imagine what it was like to live there…

Reconstructed model of an assumed celtic boat

When we came home I was incredibly tired and happy to see my own dear chamber again, as interesting as this field trip might have been. But it’s definitely not a, experience I’d like to miss.

Any thoughts?

