Everyday Celt – The Manching Museum

Time to tell you about the second day of our excursion on which we went to the Celts and Romans Museum Manching, where we had the most charming and well-informed archaeologist guide to show us around.

First I’ve got to apologise for the photo quality – most of them are quite blurry and dark as we weren’t allowed to use flashes (quite logical) and I had not enough time for every thing. Maybe you’ll enjoy the pictures (it’s just a small selection here), though.

I didn’t know where to begin, so lets start with this vessel to flow with you to the things I’ll show you.

These are the planks of ships like the above – conserved over the centuries in the alluvial mud of riverbanks that once provided a Roman fort with all sorts of stuff and soldiers.

I’ve had no breakfast yet, so I’ll continue with dishes. These are roman – from the fort with the ships.

And this one, like the ones to follow, is from the Manching oppidum, a celtic settlement. The darker dinnerware gets its colour from the graphite that was mixed into the clay to make it more heat-resistant – it’s oven-to-table ware.

Did I mention that I want that tableware? I didn't? ... I want that tableware.

Of course it wasn’t all earthen stuff, there was also a quite huge metal working trade in Manching (where Celts went, there went ore working, too).

That’s even more kitchen stuff. Isn’t that design great (Uhm. Yes, I prefer black cast iron pans to teflon ones, why’d you ask?)?

To keep it with the metal, the next pictures will be decorative objects, especially embellishments and jewellery.

Fibula replica

But there wasn’t only metal jewellery but also glass, especially beads and bracelets.

The colour indeed comes from the gold that is worked into the inner circle.

Something that I really took interest in was this set of spindles, needles and scissors. Sadly the light was too bad to take really good pictures.

Crafts end in trading quite often, and as I’ve shown you a picture of the gold treasure of Manching before I can show you the model for celtic coins, as well. These Hellenistic tokens were kind of copied with far more simple motifs. The celtic gold coins between Hungary and southern Germany are called rainbow bowls due to the legend of the drops of gold that fall down from the end of a rainbow.

Where’s gold there’s war, so let’s head for some martial stuff at the end.

The last two pieces are from La Tène. There’s even a presumed celtic brain in a museum as the alluvial mud there was so good at conserving…

I’ve seen swords a chiliad younger that were not half as well-preserved as these…

At last, that’s one of the illustrations they used in the La Tène part of the exhibition. I liked it and think that it makes a good end for this post.

Be prepared for more celticist goodness soon, this time from Johannisburg castle!

4 thoughts on “Everyday Celt – The Manching Museum

  1. Hallo, ich schon wieder, ich versprech dir ich stalke dich nicht, ich bin nur hier gelandet weil ich im Sprüche-Thread auf NuS gesehen hab, dass du Keltologie studierst und dann auf deinen Bloglink geklickt habe.
    Ich mache germanische Sprachen und hab letztes Semester in einem nicht-anrechenbaren Seitensprung Altirisch gemacht – muss aber sagen dass ich damit ziemlich überfordert war, was aber auch daran liegen kann, dass wir ein auf drei Semester angelegtes Buch (“Sengoidelc” von Stifter – weiss nicht wie ihr es macht) in einem Semester durchgedrückt haben.
    Die Ausstellungsstücke von Manching sehen wirklich toll aus – wie war die Ausstellung selbst so gemacht? Ich will mal dahin seit ich in meinem kleinen Nebenfach (prähist. Archäologie) eine Arbeit über latènezeitliche Eisenwerkzeuge und -geräte geschrieben hab, die hauptsächlich auf den Funden beruht hat…

    1. Ach, von NuSlern lass ich mich doch gerne bestalken. ^^
      “Sengoidelc” habe ich mir letztens erst angeschafft, allerdings hben wir sehr viel mit Handouts von unserem Professor gearbeitet und nur mit Ausschnitten aus diversen Büchern… Mir macht das aber auch echt Spaß.
      Die Ausstellung in Manching ist eigentlich nicht riesig, aber gut und thematisch übersichtlich gemacht. Wenn du den richtigen Museumsführer erwischst (Archäologe, blond, hatte bestimmt mal lange Haare), ist sie noch mal besser, weil der wirklich was drauf hat.
      Ich würde behaupten, dass die sich echt lohnt, gerade, wenn man bisschen in der Materie drin ist. ^^

      1. Bin bisschen unregelmässig online gerade, deshalb hats jetzt so lange gedauert.
        Führungen machen sehr viel aus… wir waren mit dem Fachverein in der Vandalenausstellung des Landesmuseums in Karlsruhe und die Führung war definitiv nicht dran angepasst, dass es ein Studenten sind, von denen man etwas Vorwissen erwarten kann – wir wissen was Fibeln sind und Karten mit den Bewegungen der Völkerwanderungszeit finden wir nicht mehr verwirrend sondern normal ;)
        Ich war in der Zwischenzeit im Keltenmuseum in Hochdorf – es liegt so schön auf der Strecke zwischen meinem Wohnort und dem meines Freundes ;) Auch eher klein, aber noch nett gemacht, auch wenn ich es schade fand wie wenig man tatsächlich von den Funden gesehen hat. Ich hatte aber schon einmal eine Ausstellung gesehen die unter anderem diesen Fund zum Thema hatte (Gold der Kelten im Historischen Museum Bern) und fand das deshalb nicht so tragisch.
        Nochmal zu den Sprachen: Lernst du eigentlich auch eine (oder mehrere) moderne keltische Sprache?

      2. Ich lerne momentan Neuirisch und hab ab nächster Woche einen Neubretonisch-Intensivkurs. Walisisch wir bei uns leider nicht angeboten… :(

Any thoughts?

