Matching Monday – 20s Child

Another series of weekly posts!

According to Porcelain Sundays there will be Matching Mondays, too, to show some coordinates or outfit pieces to fit the source of inspiration I’ve shown the day before.

This times we’ve got The Lost Doll and with it the style of a child from the 1920s. And we’ve got my first time with polyvore as well, so please be easy on me. :)

I tried to show what for me are the essentials of this style:

  • Cloche hats. They instantly shout out a loud “TWENTIES!” whenever you see them. But soft, sewn caps like the one on the left are great too, especially to capture the flair of a child’s outfit.
  • Mary Janes. These shoes were quite popular in the 1920s, even though they appeared earlier. I myself own a pair of the Duckfeet strap shoes like the ones in the lower left corner, only in a dark red colour way. They give a very dollish air to any outfit, being as chunky and flat as they are, but not without any elegance. But as you can see in the upper right corner, even higher heeled T-straps have that feeling to them, and nearly any strap shoes will do the job.
  • Pearls. Necklaces, bracelets, hair clips, everything that decorates, especially with satin ribbon bows that match the colour of your clothes. In 20s Girl there’s even a whole story centered around the pearl strap necklace of the eponymous character! Plus, the reflection of light from pearls is said to be the most flattering and pearl jewelery from fake pearls is really fast and easy to make for a decent 20s style.
  • Pastel colours. I don’t know why, but to me, 20s children’s style is a very classic one. And maybe it’s due to the afterwards coloured photographs of the time that I instantly think of taupe and beige and rosé and light yellow and the like.
  • Soft-shaped pouches. Think of kindergarten style bags with long straps and half-circle shapes that you carry your bottle of milk and your sandwich in.
  • Solid knee socks. In only one colour, maybe with some knitted ajour pattern.
  • Low waist lines. A this is kind of difficult with Lolita I went with a tiered skirt to at least somehow mock the lower line. But as there are enough essentials to the style there is no desperate need for the exact silhouette of the skirt. But I think ones without any pattern or print will work best, though.
  • Peter Pan collars. One of the key pieces to a vintage, children-like look, if you ask me. One of the greatest things about them is that you can make detachable ones!

This is mine. No, it’s not going to stay like this, I’m going to do some embroidery, maybe whitework…

I used a mix of these three tutorials:

As for books I’d like to recommend Winnie-The-Pooh by A.A. Milne, the aforementioned Twenties Girl by Sophie Kinsella and Flapper by Joshua Zeitz to learn more about quite inappropriate role models. ;)

Musically, there’s the Charleston and the arrangements of Max Raabe that I love the most. Oh, and there’s ragtime (here, too).

That’s it for the first Matching Monday. I hope you somehow liked it and will return for the next one!

Any thoughts?

