Porcelain Sunday – Anne of Green Gables

“I feel… as if… somebody… had handed me… the moon.. and I didn’t know… exactly… what to do… with it.”

The bad thing with weekly features is that one can’t just write what comes to mind, or I’d tell you the next fairytale of my stroll at the riverbanks instantly. But as we omitted the features last week, we can’t do this again! And so I’ll give you the Porcelain Sunday I’d planned for two weeks ago.

As at the end of march finally my books arrived, I had to make this Porcelain Sunday all about Anne of Green Gables!

 

My beloved and well-worn copy of the first volume.

I ordered Anne of Avonlea, Anne of the Island and Anne of Windy Poplars back in February, and they arrived exactly in turned order.

Aren't these copies pretty?

 

For those of you who don’t know Anne Shirley yet, here’s a little summary of the story:

Anne is a very imaginative orphan who – after being “handed down” several times – gets to live with Marilla and Matthew Cuthbert, elderly siblings who own Green Gables, a house with some farmland on Prince Edward Island, Canada. We accompany her when she gets to know her best friend Diana Barra and encounters a nemesis in form of Gilbert Blythe (well, at first, that is) and later get to see her becoming a teacher, authoress and by no means less spirited young woman of the late 19th century than she was a girl.

I loved Anne from the very first moment when I discovered the mini TV series about her. I had seen the book before on a sunny afternoon I had spent in the library of the school where my father teaches, when I had finished the tea the wonderful librarian had given me, but when I took more interest in the book I had to go, sadly.
Actually this is one of the few books of which I first saw an adaption before reading the book, but I wasn’t disappointed at all when I finally got my hands on the original text.

But I dare say, after reading Anne of Avonlea I was rather disappointed. All that talk about A.V.I.S. was so utterly boring and definitely had no scope for imagination! And Davy – who in my opinion is nothing but an overly spoiled brat -,well I was glad they left him out of the TV adaption (and I’ve got some pity for his twin Dora, she’ll have such mental issues later when she’ll come to know that everybody just loved her good-for-nothing brother and didn’t like her! It’s completely irresponsible and not very nice and pretty unfair of Anne to repeat every now and then that she likes Davy better. We read it when she said it first, so no need to rub it in! Excuse my language.). But Anne made up for it a little bit with her acquaintance with Miss Lavendar Lewis and the dreaming of Hester Gray. After all the second book left me with a weird feeling and had not the incredible magic of the first one. But:

“[…] isn’t it nice to think that tomorrow is a new day with no mistakes in it yet?”

I really was looking forward for Anne of the Island where she attends Redmond College – maybe her imagination and spirit would come back. It did, and at the moment I’m reading Anne of Windy Poplars with great pleasure (albeit I think that the change to an epistolary novel was quite unnecessary). But now – for the inspiration – I’ll concentrate on my much-beloved Anne of Green Gables.

The book is so full of inspiration that I don’t even quite know where to start! I guess the most important message is the “scope for imagination” that Anne embraces constantly, and to imagine. Just like Princess Sara who pretends to be a princess, Anne spices up her everyday life – sometimes up to a unhealty extend, as we learn from the haunted wood episode – and even gets herself a second persona, not so different from a roleplay character: Lady Cordelia Fitzgerald.

“There’s such a lot of different Annes in me. I think that is why I’m such a troublesome person. If I was just the one Anne it would be ever so much more comfortable, but then it wouldn’t be half so interesting.”

Not even to mentions that she renames nearly every place and thing that she comes to love to make it sound more like a fairy tale. We definitely should take her as a role model in this concern because wouldn’t it be nicer to live at a wonderful place like the Lake of Shining Waters than plain old Barry’s Pond? And that’s only one example.


As for appearance, Anne desires nothing more than to have a rose-leaf complexion, velvety violet eyes and raven-black hair and to wear puff sleeves. Sometimes her dresses are described, but the real beauty of this heroine lies in her dreamy eyes and interesting face, so there are no real significant looks that originate from the book itself. The movie in exchange provides us with simple yet most beautiful dresses from the end of the 19th century datable through the mentioning of Queen Victoria still being alive somewhere in the first book and the fact that all of her sons are old enough to go to war in 1914 with her being married in her early to mid-twenties.

Instead of plastering this post with screenshots from the mini series of Anne of Green Gables and Anne of Green Gables – The Sequel, I’d rather recommend to watch it yourself to get acquainted to the look. There may also be some editions of the books with illustrations, but I personally think that the movies couldn’t have cast better with the actors than they did, and the whole surroundings are utterly perfect (I only advise against watching Anne of Green Gables – The Continuing Story as it has nothing to do with anything ever written my L. M. Montgomery). They made a new series lately, but I admit that I’ve only seen screen caps of it by now. There’s an anime series, as well, which is quite nice, too, at least as far as I’ve seen it. But in my opinion, the most inspiring is the 1985 version.

And with that opinion of mine I’ll leave you for today to go to bed – tomorrow will be my first day at university since last summer! I’m really excited and think it’ll be a splendid adventure.

Good night!

Any thoughts?

