Porcelain Sunday – Happy Easter!

Originally I wanted to post my re-written Porcelain Sunday themed of Sucker Punch from last week today, but I completely forgot that this Sunday was Easter Sunday! Well, this might have made a great preparations post, too, but it’s to late now.

It’s a little difficult to write a Porcelain Sunday about Easter, so I’ll just list some things that might be inspiring for you. So, what I love about Easter:

  • Egg hunting. One of my favourite traditions ever! I even wanted to hunt for my Christmas presents, it was just so much more fun! My grandmother used to hide several smaller and one larger nest in the garden, the latter one not only with hard-boiled eggs or sweets but a little gift of some sort. I remember one time when I was still in primary school when I spent the Easter holidays in Italy with my father and some friends of his together with their children. We had an egg hunt and one of my teeth was loose and I lost it in a half-melted chocolate egg…
  • Ēostre. We don’t know if there ever was a goddess named Ēostre (Ostara in German) or not, but I personally like the thought. Laugh at me, but the thought of a spring deity as a symbol for the rebirth of nature, accompanied by hares, comforts me. Besides, I like her name, made up or not.
  • Egg decorating. We always did thins a week before the actual holidays, most of the time my cousins, my grandmother and I. My grandmother also has a quite large collection of easter eggs, painted by herself, the women of her family, her best friend or me, decopatched on with silk paper by my mother (quite Waldorf), adorned with ribbons, batiked, bought on crafting bazaars, everything. If I knew not that I’ll most probably some times in the next ten years, I’d start my collection right away. There’s a method to boil an egg in vegetable or tree dyes while a flower or leaf is fixed on the shell that I really want to try next year.
    Also, think of Fabergé eggs, which are the most Loli-able (and sometimes Steampunk) kind of easter eggs ever, come to think of it.

  • Cake. Another thing that belonged to my family’s Easter celebration was cake in the shape of a little lamb, mostly simple pound cake. I prefer dry ones on Easter, like marble cake, they’re easier to take outside with you for a picnic.
  • Discworld Tradition: Soul Cake Day. The Soul Cake Duck the Discworld version of our Easter Bunny and I even bought a duck-shaped cookie-cutter yesterday.
  • Bonfires. I love bonfires. Being raised by a very spiritual, nature-bound mother may have caused this, but maybe it’s only the urge to feel alive just like my ancestors did when they sat at the whispering flames, telling tales of great deeds and feasting on the prey of the last hunt. You see, archeology soaked it’s way deep into my mind. It’s also a good way to get rid of bad thoughts or dreams or set your wishes free into the night sky, just like on Yultide or New Year’s Eve. Write down what bothers you on a piece of paper and burn it.
  • Greeting the awakening of the new-born nature. Easter is a great opportunity to celebrate every new leaf and every flower you meet. In many families it’s traditional to take a biking tour on Easter Sunday (in my family it’s rather on the 1st of May), but a stroll in the park or countryside will do as well. A picnic might be perfect, even if you go all on your own!
  • Hares and Lambs. I love both as symbols and animals alike. Hares stand for fertility, joy of life and even some kind of aggression (ever saw a hare fight?). Lambs are something worth of protecting, sweet but curious (leaving out the religious part). They both make adorable motifs for dresses or skirts or t-shirts as well.

That’s what I love most about Eastertide. What’s your favourite part of the holidays, if you celebrate them, anyway?

Any thoughts?

