Autumn Lights

A week ago was my mothers birthday and I gave her something I had started as a project a year ago.

Fairy lights made from egg cardboard! I painted the “flowers” with my pigment aquarelles after I pretty much drowned them, as the water allows the colours to flow down the structure of the paper like little veins.

My mother loved her gift! I had already feared it was too useless for her, but it was just right.

The flowers look a little bit like nasturtium or field bindweed blossoms, both flowers that I really like.

It’s a little bit like I’m brightening up her rainy, dark autumn evenings even though I’m not there myself.

3 thoughts on “Autumn Lights

Any thoughts?

