Birthdays are great

I know this because Monday was my birthday, and as a good lifestyle blogger I’ll show you some pictures (and maybe even give you some notes on them. Oh well, of course I’ll comment them.).

Birthday Breakfast

This is the birthday present I got from Scoundrel, a book on fungi from 1919, including coloured illustration cards. I had been staring at this through the window of the used bookstore for month and not dared to go inside. When the book wasn’t there anymore one day, I got a little suspicious, but Scoundrel assured me quite believably that he had nothing to do with it… And now there it is!
He usually hides my presents somewhere in my room and I’ve got to find them. This time he only replaced one of the flower illustrations over my drawing table with one of the mushroom pictures, and I was incredibly happy when I found it!

I got two of the accompanying books for the Spiderwick Chronicles by Holly Black and Toni DiTerlizzi from my mother and grandparents, Arthur Spiderwick’s Field Guide to the Fantastical World Around You and Care and Feeding of Sprites. They are wonderfully illustrated (the main reason why I wished for them as I haven’t read the actual books yet) and the latter even came with a large glow-in-the-dark poster.
The other book is the Steampunk Bible, a compendium that just came out this year. Nocker gave it to me wrapped in prints of a Steampunk Uncle Sam poster, and he also acted as a proxy for Constantine who couldn’t come as he’s in Ireland for the next Semester.

The felted flower hair clip is from Teli (self made, of course) who also made a blog post with better pictures about it. The wonderful leather pencil case with its contents is from my father and meant to accompany me for at least the rest of my university life, but probably longer.

The wrapping paper my father used.

In the evening Bertie turned up, too, and we went to the African place just around the corner. Sadly I took no pictures, but they placed us in the tent-like part of the restaurant which is lit by torch-like lamps and has a thick layer of fine sand instead of usual flooring. We’ve been there before, but we didn’t even know of this part! And of course, the food was great, too.

I’d actually say it was one of the best birthdays I ever had.

Closing picture from left to right: Bertie, Nocker, me, Scoundrel, Teli.

13 thoughts on “Birthdays are great

  1. Alles Liebe nachträglich! Schöne Sachen hast du da bekommen.
    Schön, dass es auch andere gibt, die Spiderwick lesen. Wie ist die Steampunkbible? Wiwll die mir auch noch holen :D

    Liebe Grüße,
    San

    1. In die Steampunk Bible hab ich noch gar nicht richtig reingeguckt, aber das, was ich gesehen hab, war zumindest schön gemacht. Leider ist nicht alles drin, was sie an Material gesammelt hatten, aber als Compendium ist sie schon gut, grade, wenn man auf die Frage “Steampunk? Was’n das?” mit “Ich leih dir mal ein Buch…” antworten will. Ich kann ja ein Review schreiben, wenn ich durchbin, falls du Interesse hättest. :)
      (Und danke für die Glückwünsche! ^^)

    1. Thank you so much! :)
      Really? But yes, I actually get that a lot. How tall did you think I was? I’m just curious (and 1.60m).

  2. I’m also ‘just’ 1,60 m, but I always thought you’ve to be 1,70m or something like that. In my imagine of course :)

Any thoughts?

