Favourite Words in January ’12

  1. highfalutin’. Flashpots are shootin’ bright as the sun, I’m one highfalutin’ son-of-a-gun! Don’t ask me how, fortune found me, fate just crowned me, now I’m king of New York. (Newsies, “King of New York”, 1992). An adjective for someone who’s a show-off.
  2. serendipity. I tend to trip and scuttle over that word, although it’s a happy accident or pleasant surprise.
  3. gonfalon. Banners is a nice word, too, but gonfalon just sounds so elvish.
  4. shenanigans. It sounds a bit old-fashioned, like lace doilies and ruffled gingham curtains, but I like it.
  5. conundrum. A great word for riddle. I especially like the -drum at the end. It makes the word roll even more.
Any thoughts?

