Artwork Monday: Orph from The Sketchbook

This is Orph. Her full name is Orphea, after that guy who tried to save his girlfriend from the realms of the dead.

I hate it how her arms are too thin, but I drew this one or two years ago and didn’t want to change it anymore, it wouldn’t have been right. It also seems like I lost interest in the drawing after I had the head and hair done… Weird.
The little bit of colouring was done with tea and blush.

Orph belongs to an idea I’ve put into one of the “closed” files deep in the back of my head. She actually was a vampire-hunting witch, but nowadays one can’t tell tales with vampires without being accused of idea theft, something I’m not too fond of, surprisingly. Maybe the characters will be recycled one day, maybe I’ll find a way to tell their story differently, but I don’t think so.

It’s like a peaceful parting with the idea, putting this picture on deviantArt, finally, and here. I’m usually not very good at letting things go, and I’m even worse when it comes to letting ideas go. I’m even sad when I find and read notes for projects I planned and never brought to existence and know that I’m no longer fond of this style or colour or tale. But here it all worked, without remorse, without gloom.
I think that’s a good thing.

Any thoughts?

