Favourite Words in March ’12

  1. follow. I noticed this when I installed the respective button in my side bar recently, but follow is a really funny word. It sounds great, but actually it looks a little bit odd (odd also looks a bit odd itself, in my honest opinion).
  2. blanche. French for white.
  3. anthropomorph. German for humanoid (or simply anthropomorphic). I’m writing an essay for uni about anthropomorphic animals at the moment – I don’t want to give away too much yet, and I like it.
  4. Patois. French for dialect, and the term of non-standard or pidgin language or Caribbean habitus of speech, but most commonly used for  Jamaican English. I love Patois/patois as a word as well as a language. It’s a very summery word, but mostly so because I associate it with dancehall and reggae music which is very summery itself.
  5. cantrip. A spell, used as a term for Changeling magic in the RPG system of the same name.

Oh, and Happy St. Paddy’s to you!

One thought on “Favourite Words in March ’12

  1. “Antropomorph” ist auch das Lieblingswort meines Religionslehrers.
    Je öfter man es in Zusammenhang mit dem alttesamentarischen Gottesbild verwendet, desto besser kommt man bei ihm an!

Any thoughts?

