Things I want to do during the Summer Holidays


***

Each and every time when I’m this close to my last lecture of the semester I’m all pins and needles for the holidays. Oh, the things I’ll do and make! I surely will go running at least every second day, I’ll cook and bake every week – no more fast food this year!, I’ll sew enough to start with a whole new wardrobe in October, I’ll finally explore the countryside by bike and I’ll draw and paint like never before.

But let’s face it, the actual holidays look like this:

On the first few mornings I’ll tell myself “Hey, heeey, you’ve been busy all semester long. Take the chance to catch up with your need of sleep. You’ll need it. And then you can think about all the things you want to do.”
Well, I don’t think I have to write it all out, but in the end I’ll just be spending a lot of my time staying in bed while I can’t sleep that long, anyway, watching anime, eating frozen pizza and then wondering about what happened to the three months that should have been there afterwards.

But here’s the thing: When I blog about my plans, at least some people will expect me to do some of the stuff I actually want to do. They will look forward to the recipes and tutorials, the pictures from my walks and the reports from my field trips.
And there’s one thing I hate to do: Disappointing people.

So, here’s a list of a few things I want to do this summer.

  • Start a photo location map with pictures and descriptions (of how far the location is from my place, how busy the spot usually is etc.)
  • Take some walks and hikes or bike tours to explore the country around here.
  • Have my hair cut. I’m so fed up with this massive block of hair, I think I want something more layered.
  • Start to learn French so that I won’t have such a hard start when the semester starts again.
  • Declutter my closet. Make lists of what I want, what I love, what I need. Go thrifting, go shopping, sew, make. Have photo shoots.
  • Go running early in the morning and have a nice shower and an even nicer breakfast afterwards.
  • Prepare everything for my new LARP character to be ready when the opportunity comes to play her.
  • Go swimming!

Please expect proof and pictures, and please look forward to them. It’s such a big help to me.

Have a great summer!

6 thoughts on “Things I want to do during the Summer Holidays

  1. I can help you to learn French. I had five years of French in school, so I know the basics. Not much more though….except for the grammar part. I had a good teacher for the grammar part. So if you need help with French, you’re welcome to ask any question you want.

  2. hej,
    semesterferien haben schon angefangen. wie weit bist du mit deinen projekten gekommen? ausschlafzeit ist jetzt vorbei: du hast noch viel vor!

    1. Eine Hose umgeändert, zwei mal gekocht, ein neues Rezept ausprobiert, feiern gewesen, Fahrrad gefahren, ein neues T-Shirt-Design angefangen, Das-Computerspiel-An-Dem-Ich-Seit-Zwei-Jahren-Spiele weitergespielt. Ich glaube, diese Ferien könnte es endlich mal was werden mit den Planumsetzungen. :)
      Hattest du ‘nen guten Start?

      1. schlüssel für neue wohnung bekommen, maler beauftrag zu tapezieren, wohnung ausgemessen und angefangen möbel hineinzudenken (wir brauchen viel mehr möbel), dekadenz eines zukünftigen arbeitszimmers genossen, angefangen kisten zu schleppen…
        außerdem wandern gewesen, 10 min hängematte (zwischen zwei regenschauern) genossen…
        endlich pläne für viele neue bilder gemacht und vielleicht nach dem umzug auch zeit für die umsetzung :-)

        suche noch einen vorhangstoff, der gut aussieht und ein kinderschlafzimmer wirklich total dunkel macht, auch wenn draußen die sonne scheint… kein schwarz!, gerne mit muster… irgendeine idee?

        nicht zu vergessen: ich habe daran gedacht, dich an deine to-do-liste zu erinnern ;-)

      2. Nimm irgendeinen dicken IKEA-Stoff, gibt’s auch in rot oder dunkelblau, im Zweifelsfall kannst du den ja auch noch färben. Muster kannst du dann selbst draufstenciln/ kartoffelstempeln/ Technik hier einsetzen.

        Arbeitszimmer. Du hast meinen Neid.

Any thoughts?

