Cinderella Breakfast

I’ve been quite busy lately, so please excuse this surprise hiatus. And I know that you all wanted to see my white rabbit costume first thing when I come back, but I fear you’ll have to wait another week for this, Jules and I just couldn’t find time yet to shoot the pictures.

Instead, you’ll get my favourite breakfast pancake – or pikelets – recipe.

For a breakfast for one to two persons you’ll need…

– 150 g flour with baking powder (I usually use two tea spoons)
– 2 tbsp spoons of sugar
– 1/4 tsp of baking soda
– 200 ml milk (plus some extra)
– 1/2 tsp of lemon juice or vinegar
– 1 egg, lightly beaten
– 30 g butter, melted

If you use a non-stick pan, you’re good with that, otherwise you’ll need a little bit more butter for the frying.
Mix all dry ingredients and pour the lemon juice or vinegar into the milk and stir. Let sit for five minutes, then pour the soured milk, melted butter and the egg to the dry ingredients and mix. The dough has to be quite runny, so you might have to add some milk.

When the pan is hot enough to evaporate water you spray on it immediately, pour your first ladle of dough in. I use one made for sauces, so the pancakes are rather small and fit in three to the pan at once. When bubbles appear on the pancake it’s time to flip it over. Repeat until you run out of dough.

I usually eat these with honey, but syrup, cream an yoghurt also work fine. Probably jam would, too. They are a really quick thing to make and I always have all things needed at home, so they are perfect for those breakfasts with friends you have when you didn’t go to bed at all (hence the Cinderella reference), or for a lazy Sunday.

Any thoughts?

