Lolita Challenge: Week 3: Lifestyle Lolita

IMG_1234

Welcome to week 3 of the 52 week Lolita challenge. Today’s prompt theme is

My Lolita Lifestyle

There are bazillions of articles on this topic. What is a Lifestyle Lolita, How to become a Lifestyle Lolita, Is there such a thing as a Lifestlye Lolita, anyways?

I think there is. And I think sometimes I’m one of them.

My Lolita lifestyle has a lot of baking in it, not only sweet but also savoury. It has a lot in common with my Mori Girl lifestyle, they often coincide. It also has space for long, enchanted walks along the riverside, meditative sewing and music box versions of my favourite songs. The sweeter side contains a lot of magical girl anime, shopping for old-school candy, electro swing mixes and a love for ballroom dancing, no, dancing in general. I love painting my nails (I’m just not very creative at that) and I’m a sucker for sweet decoration and biscuit-shaped accessories. My home is more Mori Girl than Lolita, though.

My Lolita lifestyle would have a lot more poetry reading under the shady trees in the park in it if I had someone to read all those poems and sonnets to (but I could also settle for Frances Hodgson Burnett novels). I also love this list.

I think the most important part of my Lolita lifestyle, even when I’m not wearing it, is the most quoted part of A Little Princess:

“Whatever comes,” she said, “cannot alter one thing. If I am a princess in rags and tatters, I can be a princess inside. It would be easy to be a princess if I were dressed in cloth of gold, but it is a great deal more of a triumph to be one all the time when no one knows it.”

Even when I’m not dolled up, even when I’m wearing my torn sneakers, washed-out baggy pants and a Batman T-shirt, I can still be a princess. It’s not about the dresses*, it’s about poise, personalitly, attitude, courtesy, it’s about the mindset. As long as I remember that I can always be a princess. A porcelain doll. A Lolita.

What my Lolita lifestyle lacks a little is a local community. Or at least a group of friends I’d feel more comfortable wearing Lolita with. See, there’s pretty much two (probably more, but right now these two matter) of me, and the snarky tomboy with baggy pants, outworn sneakers and nerdy shirts mentioned before fits in much better with how I am with most of my friends – those guys I play Warhammer and Pathfinder with or discuss the best way to blow up things in Borderlands 2 or make music about popcultural phenomenons with.
Don’t get me wrong, neither of those two extremes is more me, they’re equal. One side just gets to see more daylight, and sometimes I wish the other one wouldn’t be so shy.

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

* at least not always

Any thoughts?

