Steampunk War-Flag Candy Pillow

IMG_1224

During my recent streak of productivity I thought I could as well do something useful. I’ve got this round pillow that used to have a horrible 90s cover, and I made a cover resembling a pocket watch for it. But every time I wanted to wash said pocket watch cover I had to go back to the 90s cover, and it really doesn’t match the rest of the bed, so I decided to sew another one.

It’s actually a scrap heap reduction project, too, I just had to refer back to my fabric chest once, for a bit more of the white stripe fabric (an old blanket cover). The dark red stripes are leftovers from one of my LARP sarafan dresses, and the pink-and-red striped was once supposed to end up in something steampunky but never made it. I made one stripe different just for fun, as I originally had planned to make every stripe from a different fabric.

The clockface in the middle was a rather spontaneous idea. I had something yellowish in mind when I started sewing but couldn’t find what I needed in my crap heap. I remembered a bit of Steampunk patchwork fabric I still had, and I had already used a few clockfaces as patches already, so I knew it would work.

IMG_1226

The back of the cover is half white linen, half the dark red twill I already used for the stripes. The zipper is light blue, but pretty much invisible and I had it in store. I didn’t know what else to use it for, so it ended up there and I didn’t have to buy a new one.

I’m pretty happy how it came out, it looks really cute with the rest of my pillows and blankets. I finished it in one day, started in the morning, paused to go to uni and then had it done before I had to go to training, which was surprisingly fast. Not having internet is probably the best thing that happened to me lately. :)

6 thoughts on “Steampunk War-Flag Candy Pillow

  1. verflixt. das alter macht mir doch zu schaffen… hab irgendwo im achttag das passwort für den survey kurs von t. vergessen… kannst du mir helfen?

Any thoughts?

