2013 in Review

bye2013

***

Another year has passed, every calendar sheet is torn off, and it’s time for my annual review. Instead of writing a real wall of text I’ll just list the things that are most present. I’m sure I’ll forget something, but this should cover the most important points.

2013 (Wow. I still feel like a teenager. Weird.) was extremely exhausting in some aspects. There was this huge musical project, several things at uni, a lot of things going on in my family… but in the end we’re all still alive and ready to cross the threshold to the next year.

My old laptop finally made way for a new one and lives now at my mother’s house. I got my ear pierced again (a helix, upper left side) and I got dreads. All these things were on my 101 things list, yay me! I also lost quite some weight, started donating blood and plasma, burned my face once and twisted my ankle twice (which still isn’t completely restored yet). So now you’re on track with my physical stuff.

I’ve learned so much this year, some of which I already mentioned in my last semester review. I started to take singing lessons which are a lot of fun. Also, I’ve been teaching canne de combat – the beginner’s lesson – as a co-coach this year, which is a gret experience, too! I’ve learned so many new techniques, for aquarelle and printing, things about archaeological surveys and graphic software. Oh, and I won NaNo (also on the list!). Oh, and my DELF grade. I think I also improved my blogging a little, I joined Pinterest, and my photographs got a bit better, too.

Our musical KASSANDRA (modeled after the book by Christa Wolf) pushed my boundaries in terms of graphic design, last-minute changes, nerves, organisation and nerves again and again (did I mention nerves?). No matter how hard it was, in the end I went on with a new skill or two, and being on stage, acting and singing, being someone else for an hour or two, and after that receiving the applause and with it the affirmation that I did good, that’s just so great and worth it and everything. I hope we’ll have another show next year, or at least start planning one.

Apropos being someone else: I attended my second Conquest of Mythodea, this time with a character I hope I can keep. I had to switch because of, well, things (group/country internal meta stuff that really would be a bit much to write down), and at first I wasn’t happy about it at all. But now that I’ve settled for a new character I’m far more content than before! So, sometimes inconveniences aren’t really inconveniences, they’re just badly dressed chances to change something.

I moved house! Instead of the small white house at the end of the world (that isn’t the end of the world anymore) in a flat share I now live in my own little nest of a studio flat in a slightly larger white house with perfect lighting in the bathroom. And although (no, probably more “because”) we didn’t move in together I’m still in the best relationship I could wish for. Not only is he a partner, one of the big loves of my life and my haven, he’s also my best friend. ♥

As every year I made new friends and kept most of the people dear to me (thanks for being!), but my best friend besides Scoundrel is still Jules – it might be a bit of a bumpy road sometimes, but as you said after our last bump, I’m not going to get rid of you that easily. Thanks for that.

Did I mature? Maybe. Am I mature? I hope not. I grew, in a few aspects. I’m angry about all the sad, horrible, dark, hurting, annoying stuff that happened. But even more than that I’m thankful for everything good, bright, soothing, beautiful, happy-making, lovely, loving, adorable, sweet, funny, warm that happened.

Thanks for reading this blog all through the year, and if you just joined in 2013, welcome and thanks for reading, too. I hope you’ll stay with me in 2014, too.

Have a save passage into the next year tomorrow.

2 thoughts on “2013 in Review

  1. You’ve certainly had a busy year! But there were definitely some good times throughout. I’ve really enjoyed looking through your blog, it really does give off a fairy’s diary vibe! :)

    Well, I hope this next coming year will be a good one for you!

Any thoughts?

