Ferienstimmung

IMG_2818

Ferienstimmung, die: Noun, German, fem.: The mood for or that arises during (mostly) the summer holidays.

It’s not time for the summer holidays yet, but yesterday was like a foretaste already. Yesterday was warm, really warm, as in “I want to spend the day in the river” hot, but I spent two hours of it in a packed train, heading south. The picture above is not from that train. It’s from the one back.

IMG_2811

It’s always a bit hard finding band rehearsal dates, with two of us not living in the city we have our room at, all of us studying or working at different things, but the times we have a date are ever so much worth it.

IMG_2815

IMG_2796

IMG_2806

This band rehearsal saw no less than three renditions of Let It Go by Picko (bass guitar, violin, vocals) and me (vocals, flute, harp), probably much to J.’s (guitar, cello) and Bertie’s (keyboard, occasionally drums when we need them but have no percussionist around) annoyance (we plan on trying Love Is An Open Door next), and a contagious catched tune of Carry On My Wayward Son (Bertie’s a big Kansas fan and I’ve been watching Supernatural again) for the whole band.

IMG_2816

Picko was so nice to give me a lift to Frankfurt main station as he goes in the general direction anyway. There’s a certain quality about rides with this guy that channels an instant road trip feeling. Maybe it’s sitting next to a long-haired  guy in an Infected Mushrooms shirt belting out the songs to a children’s musical or Disney soundtracks while driving towards sunsets. Maybe it’s because he has such a fitting taste in music when we’re not listening to Disney songs for once. Maybe it’s the fact that we’re usually on the road when it already darkens. Anyway, I’m always really thankful for these moments because, well, it’s just nice having friends just as weird and broken as we are ourselves.

IMG_2844

The rest of my journey home was when it hit me: These are some of the moments I’m the happiest, with fleeting glimpses of the scenery outside, warm head wind roaring in the train curtains, a small, old-fashioned compartment all to myself and a train window that actually opens half-way – the new ones are designed not to.
Back in my fairytale town I made my way home, streets and air still warm from the day, and stopped to chat with someone I know from lithography class, he sitting on his balcony’s balustrade, feet dangling two meters above the ground, me down in the street.

I can’t wait for our next band date, and I can’t wait for the holidays to actually begin. Until then I’ll just feel them sneaking up to us, slowly.

IMG_2849

4 thoughts on “Ferienstimmung

  1. They sound like wonderful friends! what great adventures! Windows never open on our trains which sucks when all you want is some fresh, non-recycled air! I would love train windows that open! I love watching the scenery go by, too!

    1. Oh, I imagine that to be horrible, especially in summer (I suppose you’ve got far more warm days in Australia than in Germany). On our new trains, small panels of the window can be tipped horizontally, but that doesn’t really help…
      Yes, I love those guys, even though we’re all a bit weird and not very socially adept (but we work well with each other).

    1. But you have a lot of other words we lack in German (like “serene” or “according to”, which officially have translations, but they don’t really cover everything the word actually means). In fact I use so many anglicisms in my everyday speech pattern that I got scolded recently by the man at the post office (he kept rambling on about the “decline of the German language”) for saying “truck” instead of the German equivalent “Lieferwagen” as I just couldn’t remember the word quickly enough.
      But I’m really happy you like the word! :)

Any thoughts?

