25

IMG_4102

Today, I turned 25. That’s a quarter of a century on this planet, in this body (more or less). Wow.

I started the day with making whole-wheat-and-apple cinnamon rolls (my processed fruit problem is getting better!), and then celebrated by giving blood at the hospital and afterwards feasting on sushi with my blood gold and a couple of good friends. Now I’m going to curl up with Scoundrel and watch this year’s Tony Awards, primarily because we missed them when they actually happened, and secondary because I love musicals and Scoundrel starts to like them.

The weird thing is that I don’t feel like 25. I have to remind myself regularly that people see a grown-up person when they meet me on the street, and not a teenager or a (very) young adult. I have been told (amongst other by my mother, no less), though, that this will never change, and I think that’s just all right.

I have also been told that 25 can be a bit scary, but 30 will be really cool again, so I’m looking forward to that.

Happy Birthday to me, and thanks to my mother for giving birth to me. ❤

6 thoughts on “25

  1. Happy Birthday! Ich fand die 25 gar nicht so spektakulär und die 30 dafür beängstigender, aber heute kann ich zum Glück mitteilen, dass es auf der anderen Seite der 30 auch ganz schön ist…

  2. Yep, scary isn’t it! Someone reminded me on my birthday I was more than a quarter of a century old! Not helping! But we are still young! And I refuse to grow up!

    Happy birthday! Stay awesome! And don’t sweat it! :)

  3. Alles Gute nachträglich! Die Sache, dass die Leute einen als Erwachsenen wahrnehmen… das schwankt von Situation zu Situation, hab ich den Eindruck. Manchmal werde ich regelrecht sauer, wenn mich Leute nicht siezen, ein anderes Mal wundere ich mich, warum ich da gesiezt wurde und muss mich dran erinnern, dass man mich als erwachsen wahrnimmt… Und 25 ist scary? Na dann bin ich ja mal gespannt, 2 Monate hab ich noch :-/

Any thoughts?

