Lolita Challenge: Week 29: Lolitafying things in my everyday life

IMG_4160

I’ll name this picture “What my tea usually does not look like”.

Lolitafying things in my everyday life

When I was just getting into Lolita, I wanted everything in my life to be Lolita compatible: My school things, my pajamas, my toothbrush, everything. It didn’t really work out, and I stuck to my military backpack, and my – I have no idea what I wore to sleep back then – and my completely normal toothbrush.

Nowadays – and that’s the thing that actually matters, isn’t it – it’s more about me-ifying. Make things so that I like them in every state of (fashionable) mind: Lolita, Mori Kei, Strega, Punk, Steampunk, left-wing alt grrl. Examples that work very well with Lolita are:

  • I wear a pocket watch instead of a wrist watch
  • I use rather plain-yet-classy stationery for uni, even though sometimes the urge to draw encircled “A”s  or pour glitter all over them is pretty present
  • I keep a few dainty tea cups in my kitchen cupboard for cases of princessly teatime, but usually I drink from hand potted mugs and a nail-polish-repaired pot

I guess it’s more about feeling overall well with myself, and treating myself like royalty, even if that’s goblin or witch royalty, which works perfectly well with me. I’d like my wardrobe – all styles in there – and overall style to be a bit more consistent, but I’ll get there at some point, I’m sure.

Things I still plan on lolitafying:

  • pajamas. I need a pair with a pretty tunic and ruffled bloomers and lace
  • a backpack, with pastel patches and buttons
  • and a few sparkly feminism/equalism/anarchism badges

Do you change or make things to perfectly match your style sometimes? Or always? How?

One thought on “Lolita Challenge: Week 29: Lolitafying things in my everyday life

  1. Hmmmm, I don’t think I have special “lolita” accessoires, besides the obvious ones like bags and jewelry I wear with lolita :P Considering home accessoires, maybe a bit? I don’t know, my lamp, some of my bed linens, some picture frames.. could maybe be considered als loli-fied. Clothing wise I think you can see it in my overall style sometimes that I like lolita if you know what to look for.. I think it’s all a bit similar anyways, wetter it’s more gypsy, lolita, mori kei, hippie or goth at the moment… :)

Any thoughts?

