13 Halloween/Samhain Facts about Me

ghoulgirlbw

Inspired by Laura’s list and the fact that the holiday is approaching I decided to list thirteen facts somehow related to Halloween/Samhain of my own.

  1. Halloween isn’t a big thing in Germany, naturally, but it is, in fact, the holiday that made my English teacher in third or fourth grade finally like me (and vice versa). We talked about it in class, and I already knew about it. We ended up chatting after class, too, and she asked me for my mother’s pumpkin soup recipe. I stopped thinking of her as a horrible, mean bore (she always scolded my best friend for talking – to me – and so we didn’t pay that much attention as we thought it horribly unfair. I know better today, of course), she stopped thinking of me as a troublemaker, and I started liking the subject after all. So, basically, Halloween is the reason for my positive relationship with the English language today.
  2. In eleventh or twelfth grade I painted one half of my face to look like a skull. Thanks to a mass of straight, thick hair falling over it, nobody noticed on my way to school, and at school in the first place. I decided to casually fling my hair back at times, scaring people who’d completely forgotten about Halloween.
  3. I don’t like horror or splatter movies at all. Violence and dead people that are not needed for the plot (I don’t think of “psycho kills people, virgin survives” as a plot, sorry) wear me out. This actually counts for every genre, not only horror and gore.
  4. My last NaNoWriMo novel was inspired by the holiday, and the story even begins at a Halloween club night.
  5. During the last years I have doubted the carving of pumpkins more and more, mainly because it’s wasted food. I simply took a step down and use small decorative pumpkins that don’t count as food now, together with artificial tea lights so the plant won’t burn. An alternative would be “saved” turnips and pumpkins, but I think as long as something is still good enough to eat I just couldn’t waste it. Non-organic pumpkins (like ceramic ones) are no option so far, though.
  6. During my Halloween-conscious life I remember dressing up as: A female modern Peter Pan, a witch in light blue, a ghoul (see above), a barbarian (because we had a LARP), half a skeleton, Max from Where The Wild Things Are, a White Rabbit and the Green Fairy.
  7. I won’t go to a Halloween party this year, as Jules already has other plans, my other friends wouldn’t want to be seen dead on that specific party and I don’t want to go on my own (and wasn’t sure about going anyway). Instead I plan on spiritually cleansing myself while having a quiet night for myself.
  8. My favourite pumpkin recipe is this, with additional mushrooms.
  9. Laura also wrote about the fae realm. This is something I was always interested in, and I was delighted to find Changeling: The Dreaming (part of White Wolf’s old World of Darkness). If I were a changeling there, I’d be a Nocker on the fine line between Seelie and Unseelie.
  10. As far as I can remember my mother was a neo-pagan throughout my childhood, but tried not to influence me too much. I took a lot of interest in her books, though, an as soon as I could read I devoured them. During my teens (read: from eleven to about sixteen or seventeen) I used to spend my Friday afternoons in the library, reading everything I could find about witchcraft, esotericism, the supernatural, myths, fairytales and neopaganism. I even tried to get my friends hooked on the topic, but alas, it was not to be.
  11. I’ll never start spelling it “magick”, because fuck you Aleister Crowley, and I don’t need to oppose it to stage magic, because I know, and that’s enough (also, as a German, the “ck” sounds unnecessarily hard for me). “Magicke” is actually an obsolete spelling for “magic”, but I still prefer the modern one.
  12. I like the term dweomercraft/dwimmercraft, though, they sound so hedgewitchy.
  13. This is post 666 on this blog. It was too cheesy and funny not to do it.
2 thoughts on “13 Halloween/Samhain Facts about Me

Any thoughts?

