NaNoWriMo Survival Strategies 2014

IMG_4616

NaNoWriMo 2014 has already been in action for four days, and so far it’s going rather well for yours truly. Anyway, just like last year I noticed some things that helped me a lot, so I though I’d share them with you:

  • opt for healthy snacks.  I’ve been through 1½ kilos of clementines already, because snacking while writing seems to be an important part of the process. Also, it’s winter, and winter is citrus time. If you’re not into healthy snacks, bake cookies or a cake yourself. Heck, make the cake part of your story! I tend to be mean to my characters, so at least I can grant them a slice of cake. This way you also do something except staring at your screen when you’re not writing.
  • make a playlist. Mine has a lot of Dresden Dolls and Dr. Steel to it (for the Steampunk feeling) as well as remixes of the Black Sails and Haven themes (because I love their drive).
  • don’t pressure yourself. Every word written is a good word. And if you don’t make the 50k, or 20k or even 10k, you still thought about your story, and maybe you’ll have the time and words to write it another time.
  • don’t stop having a social life. Seriously. Also, friends make great soundboards and might be able to help you when you get stuck. Or you can just attend one of your local NaNo meet-ups (look into the NaNo forums to find one near you).
  • if any NaNo tips (just like these!) don’t appeal to you, don’t listen. Writing is creativity, creativity is love, love is anarchy. You’ll find a way to make it work.

I also aim for a sprint-something that has to be done-sprint schedule, but just because it works for me doesn’t mean it’ll work for you, too.  But if you’d like to, give it a try. This way I actually get things done during NaNo this year.

4 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Survival Strategies 2014

  1. Zwar habe ich mich schon wieder vorm NaNoWriMo gedrückt, aber ausreichende Obstvorräte und gute Playlists sind für mich bei allem, woran ich länger arbeite(n muss) essentiell. Und ausreichend Tee ist wichtig!

    PS.: Viel Erfolg beim Schreiben. ;)

  2. I definitely agree with the bit about every word you write being a win! Also getting out is good, I often have ideas while on walks! Often sitting in your house can be uninspiring!

  3. Yes, yes, yes and yes!
    My playlist for my current project mainly consists of awesome post-rock like God is an Astronaut, Explosions in the Sky and Lights & Motion, you might want to give it a listen.

Any thoughts?

