10 Things I ♥ in November

IMG_4664

I’m sorry for the lack of updates lately, but the weather has been so bad that taking decent pictures of my recent projects was practically impossible. I promise you at least three project posts once I find a good spot in regards of lighting.

  1. 7 Reasons Why Steampunk Is Totally “Now”, a post by Desirina Boskovich that manages to give me a bit of hope for genre and subculture alike.
  2. I think I might have a new favourite font. Pokoljaro (named after a Hungarian knight from the 14th century) looks wonderfully like a historic handwriting from an illuminated book. Find it here or at Bumbayo, the studio that developed it.
  3. Griffin in a Can. These 3D prints of griffin skeletons by Mythic Articulations are so incredibly cute (just like their other faux taxidermic creations), I might swoon over them even though I’m usually extremely opposed to new clutter in my flat…
  4. NaNoWriMo, of course. There was this point where I realised that 1667 words per day aren’t that much, and that I could actually make it, maybe (and then I fell behind). I’m not saying that I don’t struggle, but overall I feel good about my progress.
  5. Carousel Ink‘s Prints, especially the Victorian City, Burlesque and Hot Air Balloon designs. I think I might need a pair of leggings or two from their shop
  6. Working from my institute’s library. There are enough people who would call me crazy for this statement, but I actually really like it. I’m also more productive there, which might stem from the facts that I don’t want to be caught watching youtube videos or playing flash games there.
  7. Faerie Magazine has put their Autumn ’14 issue online for free! It has a piece about Mori Kei, so I found it particularly interesting, but the rest is lovely as well. I instantaneously thought of Laura, but I’m sure she already knows it.
  8. Haken: Aquarius, a magnificent album Picko (you remember, the guy who plays bass in my band project and is the most accomplished music nerd I know?) recommended to me. It tells a heart-wrenching story of mermaid love and sacrifice, a progressive rock fairy tale. It’s like Jethro Tull, but with longer songs, more modern and without the flute. Sort of. I also cried a little at the end.
  9. Our new Event Calendar at the Clockworker (one of the bigger German Steampunk blogs). I’m not very adept in HTML, so I’m rather proud I managed to write this (and maintain it, too). If you’re in Germany (or somewhere near) and want your Steampunk event in the calendar, just drop us a line!
  10. Making my own Sweets. Trying to avoid plastic as far as I can I have a severe problem with my sweet tooth. Baking and making my own chocolate almonds and jellies is a good alternative and also pushes me to expand my skills.
One thought on “10 Things I ♥ in November

Any thoughts?

