Hello 2015, nice to meet you!

IMG_4991

Yesterday Scoundrel and I spent a few hours in the afternoon burning the remnants of the year gone by. I used to do this with my mother when I was a child, I did it as a teenager when I still lived at home, and now I do it as an adult, down by the river banks. 2014 was the first year for Scoundrel to join me.

IMG_4992
I collected dried orange peels, notes with things that made me sad or angry during the year, burnt-down matches and my Yuletide greens in an old basket which was given to the fire, too.

IMG_4996
Scoundrel had the brilliant idea to weave the next basket myself, so that might be a project to take on early this year.

And of course I made resolutions.

I love making resolutions. Together with fireworks and church bells they are my favourite thing about new year’s eve. My resolutions for 2015 include:

  • More DIY and creativity. Here on the blog, too. I got a tripod for my camera for Midwinter (thanks to Scoundrel, he’s perfect at choosing gifts for me, and I’m always helpless as to what to get him) so I won’t even have to wait for Jules to get off his fabulous hindquarters to take pictures.
  • Less stuff. I started clearing my book shelves (*gasp* indeed) last year and will proceed with my crafting supplies and my closet, of course. I want to fill my life only with things that I love or that I find useful (freely citing William Morris, thanks to the Northerner), which is also part of the next item on the list.
  • Taking better care of myself. Better food, more fresh air, more swimming and skating, listening to my body (as in “going to sleep when I’m tired” and “eating when I’m hungry, not hours later because I was too busy”), treating my soul well.
  • More adventures. Alone as well as with others. There are countless little castle ruins scattered in reach of my student’s public transport ticket, and I haven’t seen any of them yet! There are dark woods to explore and colourful cities to visit, lakes to swim in and campfires to be lit. Somehow I’ve got a great feeling in this regard for the new year.
  • Less plastic, more sustainability. This ties in well with items three and four. My shopping habits have already changed during the last months. There are, nevertheless, a few points I can work on still, and I’m looking forward to that.
  • Getting better at my fentes for Canne de Combat. My tendency to shift my weight too far forward makes me slower than I need to be.

I hope you made the crossing into 2015 well. Did you make any new year’s resolutions, too?

2 thoughts on “Hello 2015, nice to meet you!

  1. Das ist ja eine schöne Tradition. Gefällt mir – reinen Tisch machen, aber viel wirkungsvoller als alles einfach in Tonne kloppen.
    Ich nehme mir vorsichtshalber nie was vor zum Neuen Jahr, weil ich mich schon kenne… aber dir viel Erfolg mit deinen Vorsätzen! :-)

  2. Sounds like a wonderful idea, I might do this one day when I have somewhere to do it. I was just thinking I would like to weave a basket too! Will have to go on the too long to-do list! I definitely want to be creative, and take time for self care! Happy belated new year!

Any thoughts?

