10 Things I ♥ in February

Queen-by-AzaleasDolls

  1. Silk. Silk is a site for interactive generative art, and it can keep me busy for hours. The results are always stunning, and it’s rather calming to watch the process again via the “share” button. Sally forth, you weaver of wonder, sower of silken waves.
  2. Our dehydrator. Scoundrel and I got one to dry our dumpster loot and what we can’t eat from our organic food subscription box. I was really surprised how well the aroma was preserved, and I love the self-made apple crisps.
  3. Semester Holidays! As of today: Ah, sweet freedom (save the art project and essays I’ve got to finish) until April. I already got plans for a little trip abroad, but the first thing is a week in the Shire to mentally and physically detox and not be bothered by anything.
  4. Der Bazar online. The Heinrich Heine University Düsseldorf has made over 40 years worth of the illustrated ladies’ magazine available on their website. It’s in German, but the pictures are still beautiful and interesting even if you don’t understand the text.
  5. Creatures by Demiurgus Dreams on Etsy. I especially love their bronze pendants, and the totem miniatures are adorable, too, but everything from the shop is stunning.
  6. Invisible Ellen, a novel by Shari Shattuck about an invisible woman and her blind friend, the first person to see her in ages. At first it struck me as typical chick-lit when I found it at the book-swapping board at the supermarket, especially with the German title (which translates to “Days like Salt and Sugar”), but as soon as I opened it I was proven wrong and couldn’t stop reading. It’s a beautiful story about seeing people, self-love and righting wrongs, a bit like Amèlie, but with more action. The characters are most unusual, and the storyline is lovely, without any forced romance plot. Definitely one of my favourite books in 2015.
  7. ABM’s tutorial for Marbelizing Paper, including trial and error.
  8. Planthopper Nymphs, incredibly droll fairy creatures.
  9. Queen of the Deck, a dressup for card-game Queen variations over at Azalea’s Dolls. As you can see I loved the idea of myself as the Queen of Clubs.
  10. 6 Years on this Blog. Yesterday was my sixth anniversary with WordPress. I can’t believe it’s already been that long, thanks to all of you who accompany me on this journey through the aethernet!
4 thoughts on “10 Things I ♥ in February

  1. Dann mal herzlichen Glückwunsch zum Bloggergeburtstag! Von mir gibt’s ne Runde Kuchen und Kerzen ;)
    Auf die Semesterferien bin ich ein wenig neidisch. Hätte ich auch mal wieder gern :)
    Liebe Grüße,
    lotta

Any thoughts?

