UFO Friday

We haven’t had one of these for ages! But as I’m last-minute preparing for a LARP at the moment, I thought I might as well take a few pictures and let you in on what I’m doing this weekend.

I spent the day shopping for fabric for a more festive gown for my character, and this is what I came home with:

IMG_6791
IMG_6792

Blue striped (for my dress) and silverish (for Verdinium whom I asked for an opinion via photo at the store and who asked me to get her some of that fabric) silk, four meters each; gold and blue-and-grey trim and of course buttons. The colours are somewhat deceiving, the blue is actually much darker.

IMG_6796

The rest of the day I spent sewing and embellishing a tunic made from another silk that I’ve had in my stash for ages. While watching Horrible Histories is fun while crafting the whole combination isn’t very good for your back…

IMG_6797

And now there are my preparations for tomorrow: Drafting the pattern for my underdress. I’m aware that the cotehardie isn’t usually worn underneath other garments, but I frankly do LARP, not reenactment, and I wanted to sew one as long as I had the magazine with the pattern in it (the issue’s from 2007). It’s supposed to be rather formfitting which is great if you don’t want your undergarments to add extra polsters.

I can’t wait until I’m done with the outfit and can see how it looks.

Have a great weekend!

2 thoughts on “UFO Friday

Any thoughts?

