LARP: My Make-Up Pouch

With my departure to ConQuest being less than two weeks away I thought I might as well show off some of my equipment.

IMG_7161

This is my make-up pouch. It’s made from a place mat thingy from the thrift shop – I liked the folk art embroidery – and a leftover for lining, so it was pretty much a scrap project. I even had the buttons leftover from an old character’s dress.

I comparison to many other players I don’t need a lot of make-up. I don’t play a drow or elf so I neither have to look perfect nor do I have to paint on a whole new skin colour. I’m not an exotic dancer so I won’t need any normal make-up. I’m also not part animal or demon or something like that, so I don’t need any more latex applications like horns or fur parts or anything like it.

IMG_7163

That’s

  • eyebrow pencils for fake freckles and markings
  • water-soluble theatre make-up (plus a light skin-coloured pot)
  • two rather bland eye shadows for contouring
  • two brands of rouge, I prefer the liquid one most of the time
  • collodium

The main “ingredient” of my LARP make-up is collodium – scar fluid. My character has a big scar next to her left eye, a reminder of a cooking accident I had right before I went to play her for the first time. Of course it was nothing as trivial as splashing hot oil in-character, but I decided to keep it (pictures of face scars ahead, just to have warned you).

IMG_7125

The trick with collodium is to colour the skin beneath before you apply it.

IMG_7130

That’s the liquid rouge and the dark eyeshadow with a layer of collodium. I usually do this for my burn mark:

scar1

scar2

scar3

 

4 thoughts on “LARP: My Make-Up Pouch

Any thoughts?

