Today is not the Day for Have-To’s.

NaNo15

But it’s a day of want-to’s. If I learned one thing during my experience with NaNoWriMo it’s that ten words are ten words more than no words at all. And that all I write and do can be improved later on. I’ve been doing yoga exercises lately, just ten minutes a day, but ten minutes are not bad. In fact, they are ten minutes more than no yoga at all, and that’s a good thing.

I so often heard that NaNo is just a comparison fest, that it’s unnecessary pressure, an idiotic try to force creativity. This might be true for some people, but not for me.

For me, NaNo is better than not writing at all. I might be behind the par, but I wrote, and that’s good. I might be far behind my friends, but I’m just glad they’re getting their words out. I might not publish a story, ever, but that’s okay, because I wrote, and I wrote for me. I’m not artistic in the sense that I have to write, that writing is like breathing to me (I sometimes feel this way about drawing, but that’s another story). I’ll leave this to others who are more suited for it. No. I write because I like to challenge myself to write at all.

And I’m okay with that.

 

(As always, I’m Hedgefairy on NaNo, feel free to add me.)

3 thoughts on “Today is not the Day for Have-To’s.

  1. Thank you for this. It’s my first year participating, and three days in, I had to stop focusing on the wordcount because other things in my life became more important than writing. But I’m glad I finally tried, because I now have a big chunk of a story I would never have pushed myself to write if it weren’t for NaNo! I’m still loving the forums and swaps though, and that made me realise that the most important thing is just to enjoy yourself :)

  2. Good attitude :) That’s kind of my attitude too, though I still focus on the word count this year because I’d love to reach the 50,000 words. Just for me, I will most probably only ever publish this story on some online site if at all. But I’d love to say “I did it!”. But even if I don’t manage, because I also have a huge workload for university and have to work on two papers (still in the concept phase, but there’s alreay lots to write for it still and what I have to do is pretty time consuming) plus regular university work of course, etc I’ll be happy that I wrote again. I used to write a lot of stories in my teens and I stopped pretty much and I just wanted to write something again. Because I love coming up with stories, just for me.

Any thoughts?

