Things We Brought Back: The Small Stuff

Of course we didn’t only bring back clothing and fabric (and sea shells) from our Amsterdam trip. Here’s what we used to stuff the small empty spaces in our luggage:chocolate and mints

I just love Dutch chocolate (it’s slavery-free in these cases, too!). Last year Tony’s had a milk chocolate bar with marshmallows and pecans, but sadly it was a limited edition so I had to find a new one to try! I decided to go for pecan and cocos with dark chocolate in the end which is nice but can’t compete with a striped packaging and marshmellows in the end. ^^
The Jhonny Doodle is amazing, though. It has small brownie and fudge bits and I already ate a whole bar during our stay.
The tentacle is a toy we picked up at Flying Tiger (actually a Danish franchise), one for me and one for Bambi. You simply put it on your finger and fool around, and no, supposedly it’s not a sex toy.
And the mints I merely picked up for the cute retro design.

markers, tape, notebooksSpeaking of Flying Tiger I grabbed several packs of small notebooks there, too – they are a great size to carry them in your pocket. The mini tape plus dispenser was a case of “I need tape and this is not only the cheapest I can find but also cute!. And I also bought the whole range of markers because I don’t have that much experience working with felt-tip pens and wanted to try a cheaper version before I invest in Copics.
pretty colours

things from the circus shopOn our last full day before we went to the beach I discovered Amsterdam Circus, a shop for juggling equipment. I don’t juggle much but I like circus aesthetics (no kidding!). Even though the hoops were very tempting I figured that they wouldn’t fit into my bag, so I just left with two buttons (I love the green man one and the juggling skeleton matches some other buttons I already had) and a spinning top. I had forgotten how much I love these simple little toys but this one now sits on my desk for recreation minutes during work.
top in action

Waterlooplein pearl stringsThe next few items aren’t my souvenirs but Scoundrel’s. I liked the thought of taking pictures of his beautiful haul, too, and decided to basically give you the full tour through our loot.
Everything is from Waterlooplein flea market – we found this amazing stall selling freshwater pearls at a really low price. Scoundrel likes bling, and he mainly uses them for LARP purposes.
rose quartz rune stonesHe also found a (incomplete) set of rose quartz rune stones at the same stall.
As for the purple pearls the owner explained that sometimes the strands he gets are so tangled up that he cuts them and then sells the pears in little bags to DIYers like us.
more pearlsScoundrel's blingI think Scoundrel’s magpie tendences are really adorable. His character Giavan is going to wear these rings all at once.pomegranate necklacesI bought something at the same stall, too: two garnet necklaces (that I simply clipped together to make one very long one) that look like pomegranate seeds on a string.
like pomegranate seedsAnd a crystal bracelet and two pendants. What can I say, they had a five-for-less deal.
crystalsAnd last but not least I found this little treasure at the second-hand book market at the Oudemanshuispoort passage. Classic Winnie-The-Pooh is one of my favourite things ever and also a big thing in Scoundrel’s and my relationship so I had to buy it. It’s full of recipes and quotes and the classic illustrations, too. I can’t wait to have a decent oven again to try them all out!
It’s a bit funny that I buy Swedish matches at Dutch supermarkets but I just like the design so much and they have such a convenient size for their boxes (this time I brought big ones, too).Teatime with Pooh

I love shopping for souvenirs that aren’t exactly thought out for this function. What would I do with painted wooden shoe pencil holders and the like?
And I even learn a little Dutch from the last one.

What was your favourite souvenir from your last trip?

8 thoughts on “Things We Brought Back: The Small Stuff

  1. I really love the Bling.

    On my last vacation in France I found a roleplaying store and since they had a bargain on dice I bought a set of 3 D20 for DSA. They have a good contrast so I can see the numbers behind my GM screen even in dim light.

  2. I like to buy accessories for souvenirs. I had a Waterfront umbrella from Japan that lasted 7 years, socks from the C&A in Amsterdam, and a scarf from the Galleries Lafayette.
    I love all your finds, they are so beautiful, especially the crystals!

  3. Oh goodness, that tentacle thing. My bf bought some for our nephews, they are so annoying (I usually get one in the ear when I’m least expecting it… *twitches*)! O_o; The chocolate packaging is cute, though! And also that crescent moon-looking piece in Scoundrel’s loot pile is beautiful :)

    I think it’s also settled that I need to buy a rune set now…I’ve been thinking about it since midwinter, and you’re the second blogger on my feed to mention them (also, I love quartz in all its forms, so there’s that) ^^

  4. Wow, Scoundrel is a fabulous magpie! What finds! And I am dying over your garnet strands! I have only ever seen them once and wanted some ever since! One day, I guess!

    1. Thanks, I’ll pass on the compliment! Yes, those garnets were such a great find – maybe you’ll make it to Amsterdam one day and find that stall, too, who knows!

Any thoughts?

