10 Things I ♥ in July

mosaic1d2feb11322685fc2fada407a0e8f570aca05d08

  1. The Yan Tan Tethera. I first heard of this shepherd counting system when I read The Cuckoo Tree by Joan Aiken (still one of my favourite books) where the handsome smugglers under the leadership of Yan Wineberry use it for their nicknames. I decided to learn it late last month for LARP reasons and used it since to count the steps I have to climb to my internship workplace. Counting makes it easier, and I already only counted twenties anyway, so the Yan Tan Tethera was a good option, and this way I got it into my head pretty fast. I also like the sound of it and by the way it also features in Terry Pratchett’s Tiffany Aching books.
  2. The Magpie And The Wardrobe blog. I don’t think it has been updated lately, but it’s a beautiful archive of folklore tidbits. I think I might have need of the book (but only after the move, this way I’ll have to pack less).
  3. Sugary cute Youtubers. I feel a deep need for pastels and overall cutesy things at the moment with all the sad things going on so after a failed attempt to go shopping for cute things to cope with everything I went and started watching people not failing at it. So far I discovered Noodlerella and Pixielocks and Mo’brien (but she gets her own bullet point), but if you have a favourite you’d like to recommend I’d be happy about a comment.
  4. While we’re at it: #haulternative. It’s basically thrift and refashion hauls, which is such a great concept! I plan on posting one myself sometime soon-ish (but don’t quote me on that). Until then you can look the whole thing up here at Fashion Revolution.
  5. Pokémon Go. Who would have guessed. I’m not playing myself (yet, I’m still playing Platinum via ROM) but I love walking by people on the street who talk about catching a Squirtle or how many Magikarps they still need. And of course I love how it helps people to get out of the house and into the wild! Augmented reality is so incredibly cool! Just don’t run in front of a car for a catch. If you do that’s natural selection, guys, and you know it.
  6. Mo Mo O’Brien. What can I say, I’m a fangirl. And yes, her channel is what gave me the final push to start my vlogging experiment (she’s adorable!).
  7. WE HAVE A PLACE!!! And we’re moving at the end of August! To Hannover! More on that once I’m back from the dig and Conquest!
  8. Crafternoons with my friends. We had a whole crafting weekend for the upcoming ConQuest lately. It’s so much more fun together and if you’re stuck you can always ask the others for help. Granted as I am the one with the most experience in crafting and the one who has all the tools and the material I am the one who gets the least of her projects done because I’m always busy helping but that’s just as fun.
  9. Underwater Cameras. I always wanted one and after my old camera broke I finally took the plunge (haha) and bought one. It’s such a great experience that you’ll definitely see more photos of the riverbed soon.
  10. Spending time with my Mum. She was here for a visit with a friend last week and we had such a great day! I’m glad to have her, she tries her best to be there for me and we’re really great friends now we’re done with puberty and the other usual things that come between mother and child.
8 thoughts on “10 Things I ♥ in July

Any thoughts?

