The Wunderkammer Chronicles

WUNDERKAMMERlogo

*doorbell ringing* Hey, can [insert your name] come out to play?

When I asked you if you were up for a game of Changeling in my last post I meant it. I feel myself yearning to get all the stories and adventure hooks for fae-born-human out of my head and though, what time better than now, and what crowd better than my lovely readers? I feel like I’ve built a tribe here over time, small but precious, of people who are like me, drawn to the realms beyond our realm, fascinated by fairy tales and myth and folklore.

Well, the problem is that some of you live on other continents, and the solution for that is the internet. Verdinium gave me the idea for a play-by-post forum, a place for us – if you want to join me – to play and pretend. I realise that this might seem a strange proposition but I’d rather try and invite you to play and risk that you might say “no” than spend my time wondering what would have been, had I not asked you at all.

So without further ado and before I change my mind I give you The Wunderkammer Chronicles.

The Wunderkammer Chronicles is a forum intended for roleplay, although it has sections for the Changeling lifestyle, too. It’s supposed to be for play-by-post gaming, a form of pen & paper RPG where you – instead of sitting at a table talking about what your character does – post your speech and actions into a gameplay thread. I myself will be the storyteller (that would be a game master by another name) so far over there but you are invited to host a chronicle or one-short or adventure there as well if you’d like to!

The forum is still somewhat under construction and I’m open for ideas and opinions, but mostly I hope for you to come out and play with me. Make an account, maybe tell me here (or don’t), maybe tell your friends (if you think they could like it), join the adventure or even become a storyteller if you have a grasp of the Word of Darkness and Changeling: The Dreaming already.

So I ask again, this time with a context to make it happen for real (though in our imaginations and on virtual ground): Anyone up for a game?

8 thoughts on “The Wunderkammer Chronicles

  1. that sounds like such fun! except I’ve never played a pen and paper RPG before. and I’m terrible shy, even on the internet (>///<) but…I think I'd like to give it a shot

    1. Oh, just sign up! Everybody was new at some point, it’s perfectly okay. :)
      You’ll figure the whole thing out in time, and you were brave enough to write this comment!

  2. I’m in! I haven’t signed up to the forum just yet, but I’ve got a copy of the rulebook and two prospective characters already :) The only thing is, I haven’t played via forum/online before ^^; But you seem to have everything really well laid out and explained though, so I’m sure it’ll work out fine! Thanks so much for sharing this with us, I’m excited to see where it goes ^__^

    1. I have no experience with pbp RPG, either, but I’m sure we’ll make it work! Drop me a PM at the forum when you arrive, I’m looking forward to this whole adventure, too!

  3. Kewl! You are going to be such an epic Storyteller, Ari. I will read up on all the materials you provide on the the Wunderkammer Chronicles Forum. I am definitely going to give this a go. I am very much looking forward to going on a WOD adventure with you and your wonderful community.

  4. I’ve signed up! Though I’m not sure I’ll have time to play, I’m definitely interested in looking at the other writings. Your post resonated with me very much, too. it also made me determined to catch up on my blog reading. >u<

    1. Ooooh, I’m glad you joined! We’ll be playing in a pace that works with us (whatever it might be), so if you want to join after a while that would be fine, too. If not, feel free to lurk or just post in the other boards. :)

Any thoughts?

