Jack of All Trades

Master of none cover small

It’s that time of the year again. That’s right, it’s NaNoWriMo. For those who don’t know: National Novel Writing Month is one month of writing madness with people from all over the globe sitting down to hammer out 1667 words each day of November to end up with a 50k novel on the 30th. And it’s my 8th year.
While I usually write about hunting vampires or fairies founding universities or such things this year I took up something rather different.

I’ve got a worldbuilding problem. I love worldbuilding and I’m really good at it. I say something like “I’ve got this idea for a LARP group” and two hours later I’ve come up with the crests of every surrounding barony, a religion full of gods and rituals and holidays and probably the historical outline for the last millennium. And a floor plan for a castle.
Okay, slightly exaggerating, but I think I made a point. If there’s something I’m really good at writing it’s worlds and believably quirky characters.

So none of that this year, instead I’m focusing on plots. Gasp! After a suggestion from Scoundrel after I couldn’t decide which world to build this year I sat down, clicked ten times on a random plot generator and went with it. And now I’m writing short stories about a heist, a prince in distress, a magnificent llama called Mackenzie and meringue. It’s fun, really, it reminds me of elementary school when we had to come up with stories based on three or four words for assignments.
I like NaNo not because I think my destiny is to become a writer (I’m a storyteller, sure, but not necessarily a literary one), I like it because it makes me flex my creative muscles. Imagination and creativity are muscles that need to be moved in order to work well and get stronger, that’s why I like challenges like Inktober and, well, NaNo.

I must admit that making the cover for my short stories was at least as much fun as writing them is. The texture background is from Lost and Taken and I’m rather fond of how it turned out.

That’s about 390 words for this post (and counting) and none for the project… but I have enough words for both. :)
Are any of you participating in NaNo this year? If yes, what are your novels about? I’d love to hear about them in the comments!

3 thoughts on “Jack of All Trades

  1. I like the illustration :3
    every year I mean to do it. and every year I think, “how is it already November?!” time flies. maybe next year ;)

    1. Thanks! It’s still a commitment and sometimes it drives me crazy when I don’t have the time to write or start being behind the daily goal, but it’s fun nevertheless!

Any thoughts?

