Thrifting in October ’16

I’m a bit later than usual with my monthly thrift haul post but to compensate that it’s longer than usual, too!
October proved to be a good hunting month around here. It helps that there is a thrift shop right next to where I work Saturdays which is great for finding treasures but not so great for my paycheck…

Thrifting in October '16

I’m a big fan of Cranach’s works, the details are beautiful and so are the colours. He’s also great at painting fabric structures, and I really love velvet. Hence the bowtie, too. I plan to use the small gold-embellished thingy (what is the name for those things in English? I wouldn’t even know how to call them in German) as a patch of sorts.

Thrifting in October '16

Thrifting in October '16

On to the bronze sector (can you tell I’ve been watching Warehouse 13 again?)! I don’t know yet what to do with the tiny mortar and pestle but I had to take them with me. The teapot hook is going in the kitchen (obviously) and I might have to lose a bit of my waist circumference before the belt fits but it was too pretty to leave behind! 1989 is my birth year, the thing with the number is a pin formerly used for a medal of some kind, I think.

Thrifting in October '16

Thrifting in October '16

Another two of the things I don’t know the name for! I usually call them “the horrible litte placemat thingies which are so very grandmotherly and somehow square and dusty, you know the kind”.
The one with the knights is going to become another set of patches, too, and the other one I don’t know about yet (but I liked the pattern. Maybe a belt. Who knows.).

Thrifting in October '16

Thrifting in October '16

More crafty things! Those are among my favourite things to thrift for aside from LARP stuff, I think. I just realised that I didn’t take a picture of the buttons but I’ll simply cover those in the November post (they’ve doubled in quantity, anyway). I found the wood-case biro at a free stuff point in the hallway of my doctor’s office house, I think I’ll take it for Noio, or just for woodland creature notes. And who can resist patterns for 1€ a piece?

Thrifting in October '16

Thrifting in October '16

I must admit that I mainly took this book from the open shelf for the colour and the pretty spine. I haven’t read it yet, other books from the same shelf are keeping me busy – at the moment I’m reading a semi-fictional biography on Eleanor of Aquitaine.
I wanted a new bunch of clear crystals for a while now for re-charging things so I was happy to find them at the thriftstore. I think I’m going to buy another packet or  two, but these are a good start!

Thrifting in October '16

Thrifting in October '16

Okay, I cheated with this one. The horese isn’t thrifted, I actually bought something new for once but it fit in the picture so well. Of course I bought doilies. They were 50 cent a piece. I always buy doilies (I might have a problem).
The two forks are once again for crafting purposes.

I didn’t just leave out the buttons, I also couldn’t get decent pictures of the clothes I got (told you it was a good hunting month). I’ll try to take ones with better lighting soon.

How was your thrifting luck last month? Anything good? I’d love to hear about it in the comments!

2 thoughts on “Thrifting in October ’16

Any thoughts?

