10 Things I ♥ in November

10 Things I love in November 2016

  1. The Dice Shop. Not only have they a gemstone dice collection (I want Amethyst and Rainbow Fluorite, badly…) but also quite the range of dice towers (a tool used in Roman times already to make sure nobody used special throwing techniques or cheat otherwise). I think my favourites are the Elven Tower and the Ruined Castle. Here’s the webshop, click on your own (bank account’s) risk…
  2. What We Do In The Shadows. Yes, Halloween is over but that doesn’t keep me from recommending the best vampire movie ever made to you. It’s hilarious and doesn’t take its low-budget self seriously for the slightest bit, but still manages to tell a good story. I can’t wait for the werewolf sequel, We’re Wolves.
  3. Dellamorte & Co on Etsy. Based in New Jersey they make the most beautiful resin pieces of the morbid and dark romantic sort. I’m especially taken with this wall lantern (deep-sea creature plus Victorian-esque lantern? I’m sold), the Krampus nutcracker (for the upcoming season) and this Abigail Larson wraith.
  4. The art of Chie Hitotsuyama. She makes beautiful creatures from old newspaper, the strands almost reminding the viewer of muscles and sinew and veins.
  5. Gochuumon wa Usagi Desu ka?  Season 2. I gushed about this anime last year already and season two of café hijinks and rabbits is just as adorable as season one.
  6. Studio Farò’s Pattern Puzzles. Studio Farò is a sewing and fashion studio situated in New South Wales, Australia. On their blog they post free patterns now and then, from simple to more complicated ones, and I’m really smitten with they asymmetrical double-tucked top and tunic at the moment. I just found that there is not only a great thrift shop next to my Saturday market but also a fabric/sewing supply shop so I hope I’ll be making these two items rather sooner than later!
  7. Having a guest room! Well, it’s our living room/crafting room with a big sofa bed but it’s so nice to have an actual place where people can stay for a while (without having to sleep on the floor)! We hang out in the kitchen most of the time anyway so handing over the reign over the living room for a few days doesn’t hurt at all. My Mum was the first to stay there and then Verdinium visited for a week (because she basically lives at the other end of the country) and there are more visits planned already for the end of the month. I love having guests and I love it even more when everyone involved is able to close a door for a little time on their own when needed.
  8. Hogsmeade Concept Art for the Harry Potter theme parks via Theme Park University. I’m a sucker for concept art – it’s a good thing concept art books tend to be rather expensive, I only have so much book shelf space. Of course Harry Potter concept art ranks high among my favourites! I think my favourite here would be the Spintwitches Quidditch display, closely followed by Honeydukes.
  9. My new hiking boots. They remind me of Yama No Susume and Kokona’s new shoes because they have a bit of purple in their colour scheme!
  10. Méas Vintage, a blog about a realm of mirrors and wings and Provençe-inspired interior design by a woman I as a Changeling addict would instantly put in the Sidhe box. The blog is in German only but there is a translator in the side bar and the pictures are beautiful even if you wouldn’t understand the words.
7 thoughts on “10 Things I ♥ in November

  1. So many good things! I will check them all out. And I’m so glad you liked What We Do in the Shadows. It’s one of my favourite movies too. =)

  2. I love What We Do In The Shadows, it’s such a brilliant and witty film – it always make me laugh, and I have suggested it so many times to friends and family! That wall lantern is amazing too, I love anything that has an underwater feel, it looks so cool. Love Chie Hitotsuyama’s artwork too, it’s just stunning, my favourite piece of hers is the lizard, it’s amazing. – Tasha

Any thoughts?

