Thrifting in November ’16

100_0362The thrifting Gods have been nice to me again this month. Now that we have stocked the flat with everything we need I concentrate more on things that will make it feel more rounded and finished when I go for a thrifting stroll.
100_0365I always love dainty tea cups when I see them yet never know what to do with them, being a hand-potted sturdy mug girl myself. I still have no idea where these two beauties will end up but they don’t take much space and make a nice display for all the small things like dice and walnuts and acorns and buttons. And aren’t the autumn colours of the yarn lovely?
100_0371Speaking of buttons I grabbed a bag of buttons on one of my hunts lately, together with a bag of trim leftovers. Honestly craft supplies are one of my favourite – no, my favourite – thing to thrift for.
100_0368I saw this rose fabric – with little black dots, so the print was probably supposed to be cross-stitched over – some day, picked it up and said to myself “I’d take it for two euros”, only to look at the tag to find it was only one, so it came home with me. I think it might make a nice border-printed skirt, maybe for Dolly or Classic Lolita purposes.
100_0369I’m also still collecting silverware for my first forays into jewelery-making. The next thing on my shopping list are the tools but I can hardly resist pretty pieces.
100_0370

This brooch was a curious one, it’s a pressed pansy preserved in what looks like acrylic. And last but not least there’s this beautiful lacy tablecloth that asked me to become part of my faerie wardrobe some day.

How was your thrifting luck this November? I’d love to hear about your treasures in the comments!

11 thoughts on “Thrifting in November ’16

  1. These are all beautiful treasures! No idea why anybody would give away such things, but for your sake, I’m glad they did! I’ve been thinking about making some pendants myself lately too, but I need to buy a drill first, and I’ve been putting it off -__-;

  2. Bei den Sachen, die du immer wieder findest, habe ich immer wieder das Bedürfnis dich in mein Haus das Verrückte macht einzuladen. Hier ist noch soviel von Generationen vor mir, mit dem ich nichts anfangen kann :/
    In Heimen, in denen sie wertgeschätzt werden, wirken sie doch gleich viel schöner.

    Die Idee mit der Brosche, also gepresst und in einen Kunststoff gegeossen, finde ich interessant.

    1. Ich steh total auf dieses Schatzsuchegefühl. Durch je mehr Schund man sich buddelt, desto cooler ist das Gefühl, wenn man dann doch mal DAS findet. Was auch immer DAS in dem Fall ist.

  3. Toll, was du immer auftreibst! Ich war im vergangenen Monat gar nicht einkaufen, aber dafür wollte ich dir eine Idee dalassen, was du mit den hübschen Tassen anstellen könntest, wenn du magst: Frau Jule hat Kerzen hineingegossen (http://fraujule.blogspot.de/2016/11/frau-jule-geht-mal-kein-licht-auf.html) und Meisenknödel hineingepackt (http://fraujule.blogspot.de/2015/10/fur-mehr-als-eine-meise.html). Vielleicht inspiriert dich das ja. :)

    Liebe Grüße,
    Sabrina

  4. Wirklich schöne Funde! :) Ich suche auch am liebsten nach kreativen Kram, obwohl ich nicht so oft auf Suche gehe. Aber es macht definitiv Spaß.

    1. Danke!
      Inzwischen suche ich ja lieber im Secondhand nach Bastelsachen als im normalen Bastelladen (auch wenn der natürlich immer noch toll ist), einfach für den Schatzsuchefaktor…

Any thoughts?

