Finished Things Saturday: Lace Bags

106_1049

Recently I noticed that my fabric cotton pads were too small to just toss them in the wash with everything else. They would wind up in the door rubber thingy and still be dirty. So I went out, got myself one of those short lace curtains for 50 cents at the thrift shop (because I had not tulle fabric or something similar at home) and made this. It has a drawstring secured with laundry buttons and I can simply hang it on the door, put my used pads in and then toss them in the laundry hamper when I’m running low.

106_1051

Of course I had leftover curtain so I made another one for salad. Many of our customers have similar bags that all look the same (it leads to confusion and stress. If you have those things it’s a good idea to mark them somehow as yours). This way I don’t have to use new corn starch bags from work anymore every time I get salad, too.

106_1047

106_1045

And last but not least I made a tiny one for my soap leftovers. I only use slices of soap for showering, not the whole bar. On the plus side this keeps the rest of the soap dry and not soggy but on the minus side the slices break apart at some point and then I have tiny pieces of soap I can’t really use (because the “just stick it on the next piece of soap” thing doesn’t work for me). With the lace pouch I can simply put the pieces in there and then use the bag as a whole.

What have you been crafting this week?

4 thoughts on “Finished Things Saturday: Lace Bags

  1. These are super pretty…the lace is much prettier than tulle would be! I might have to use this idea for my soap bits…I currently put my leftovers into a plastic box and squodge them all together to use again when it gets full enough, but this looks way less messy (and probably makes a nice scrubby lather, too)! :)

  2. You have so many good ideas! I’d much rather use pretty lace fabric for these kinds of things than something normal or boring (or with a company logo on it!).

Any thoughts?

