Up for a Challenge: Plastic Free July ’17

It’s almost July and for me (just like October and November) this is a challenge month for me.

Last year I tried to go plastic free in July, felt like I failed miserably came August and felt rather disheartened about attempting zero waste but still being myself too much to give up completely.

Because you know what?

Trying and not being as successful as you wanted to be is still better than not trying at all.

So where is this going this year?

I’m going to try.

I want to have a decent image of what amount of single use plastic I had to throw away over the month. I want to check my progress more thoroughly. I’m not quite sure yet of I’m going to have a waste jar or bag – my problem with this would be packaging of things like fish or dairy that leave residue that can (and probably will) go bad after a while. I could of course clean the packagings before putting them in the jar/bag but that’d strike me as somewhat obsessive for what I want from this challenge. My current idea is to document my single use plastic with pictures instead, maybe once a week? If you happen to have a great solution please let me know in the comments!

What I also want to do is share more of my ideas, tutorials and craft ideas for less waste (because let’s face it, I’ll never arrive at “zero”, and that’s okay). I’m experimenting with a plastic-free (or at least less-plastic) bathroom right now! I hope I’ll manage to write about streamlining your things, too, without sacrificing the things you love or will probably need. No promises, though, I know my scatterbrain.

I hope you’ll accompany me on this journey, either as fellow participants or as casual visitors in the temple of doom sustainability or just as an audience as I try to do my best and not succumb to the temptation of veggie jelly dinos every other day.

So, are you coming?

2 thoughts on “Up for a Challenge: Plastic Free July ’17

  1. Hey Ari! Plastikfrei ist eine gute Sache, darüber habe ich auch schon oft nachgedacht. Ich habe auch immer meinen Stoffbeutel bei, damit ich nicht ständig Plastiktüten mit nach Hause nehme und will mal einen Versuch mit Haarseife starten; wenn das klappen würde, bräuchte ich schonmal keine zig Shampooflaschen mehr. Ich denke, im Badezimmer kann man das Thema sehr gut umsetzen, nur bei Lebensmitteln könnte es etwas schwierig werden. Ich bin gespannt, was du berichtest.
    Liebe Grüße!
    Nina

    1. Meine normale Körperpflege ist tatsächlich inzwischen plastikfrei, das klappt echt gut. Meine Haare sind zum Glück sehr pflegeleicht, eine Freundin von mir hatte mit Haarseife echte Probleme, aber ich find es toll, dass du das ausprobieren willst! :)

Any thoughts?

