Plastic Free July, Week 2

Plastic Free July 2017, Week 2 | Hedgefairy

New here? Read my initial post about this year’s Plastic Free July here and my review of week 1 here.

Thanks to not feeling well but rather dizzy instead I didn’t go LARPing last week after all. The good thing about this was that I had more control over my plastic use habits and that I could finally get my new copper coil (which would have been even more of a pain if I hadn’t taken the week off anyway).
I’ve had dinner at Rus’ place one night and he took care of the cooking so I can’t account for that because I had been confined (by means of glares and a wrinkled nose) first to the sofa with a hot water bottle and then to the bathtub because of that summer cold that I had going on the days before and the menstrual cramps. Again, I have wonderful people around me. ♥
Same goes for the three days I spent at my Mum’s place although we both try to buy as little single-use plastic as possible.

Plastic Free July 2017, Week 2 | HedgefairyThe hard facts for Week 2:

Weight: 100g (realistically probably around 150g again counting the things from when I was at Rusty’s and my Mum’s)
Not avoidable: plastic packaging for IUD (not in the bag because I wasn’t thinking of asking my gynecologist for it because I was busy being in pain), medication blister packs, feta packaging (there’s no way I’m giving up feta)
Definitely avoidable: jelly dino packaging, biscuits packaging (I bought them because I hoped the insides of the paper packaging were paper, too. Alas, no such luck.)
Probably avoidable: Okay, the feta packaging. There must be some way to at least get larger packages for less plastic per meal-with-feta-cheese. And the single use gloves for hair dyeing, but only if I found henna in my colours without them included around town. I’d rather have the gloves than having the stuff shipped to me (because that wouldn’t be exactly a more sustainable way…). If you want pictures of my freshly dyed hair don’t bother, there wasn’t much of a change. Yet.

There’s also a crunchy peanut butter jar in there – creamy PB we can get in glass but the crunchy stuff is hard to get if it’s supposed to taste as good as the one from this plastic jar. I’m also not sure if I could find sour cream in glass as well. I’ll have to look for that next time I’m near a bigger supermarket.
Also in there: second-hand plastic packaging. Sometimes I buy craft supplies from the thrift store and just like their first-hand brethren they are still packaged in plastic. It’s a shame but it’s still better than buying them newly-made I guess…

I’d really like to up my plastic-free game during the last two weeks of the month again but I fear that it’ll need some serious planning and I’m… really not good at that. But we’ll see, and I’m not giving up hope just yet.

4 thoughts on “Plastic Free July, Week 2

  1. Feta is a tricky one for sure. Depending on where you live, and what exists around there, it might be possible. I’ve seen them loose in Deli’s or little world food stores. Basically anywhere that might sell olives from big bowls by the gram might also sell Feta in a similar way and then you can always take your own jar and ask them to put it in there. That will definitely require some planning though.

  2. Zum Thema Feta: Meine Eltern kaufen häufiger Feta im Glas. Der ist in Öl und Kräuter eingelegt, bereits gewürfelt und als Markenprodukt vermutlich etwas teurer, aber immerhin stark plastikreduziert bis plastikfrei.

    Ansonsten Glückwunsch zu der plastikarmen Wochen. (:

    1. Danke für den Tipp, ich muss mal gucken, ob ich den bei uns finde. Ich hab bisher natürlich immer nur im Kühlregal geguckt, auf eingelegte Sachen bin ich nicht gekommen, ich Schussel. ^^

Any thoughts?

