UFO Friday

UFO Friday is my (usually) bi-weekly series where I show you what projects I’ve been working on (UFO standing for UnFinished Objects). For more of these, look here and for every other week’s feature, Finished Things Saturday, look here.

UFO Friday: Boulangerie-Pâtisserie Aperture | HedgefairyI haven’t written one of these in what feels like ages! Above you can see my latest endeavour in label design, basically, for a bread bag I’m working on. It’s almost done so look out for it during the next few weeks!

UFO Friday: Drying Beets | HedgefairyI got several kilos of beet roots from work during the last weeks and after giving away ¾ of them to friends and co-workers I decided to dry the rest. I have been wanting to experiment with beet root powder anyway!

UFO Friday: Drying Beets | HedgefairyI also made one tray of bigger slices with sugar and cinnamon (we keep a mixture ready in our kitchen for apple-cinnamon loaf). Scoundrel happens to actually  like them even though they were a really random experiment.

UFO Friday | HedgefairyI’m also working on a new floofy, frilly pettiskirt – something I’ll be able to wear as a petticoat as well as on its own if I happen to feel pink and sparkly. This is the thrifted lining fabric I happened to find quite a while ago.

UFO Friday | HedgefairyAnd last but unspectacular not least is this foam pad/bolster thingy. It used to be the back of my Mum’s sleep sofa that has long been sent off to wherever it is that really old but not so fancy sofas go. I use it as a headboard for my bed but I really dislike the fabric – it just doesn’t match the rest of my decor. I’m currently covering it with a quilt which looks really nice but I want a cover I can change it to once in a while, so that’s definitely on my project list at the moment. I even cut the fabric already!

What have you been working on lately? And of course: Have a wonderful weekend!

2 thoughts on “UFO Friday

  1. I can’t wait to see your finished bread bag! I like seeing your illustration processes, since it’s something I’m giving some thought to pursuing myself in the future.

    And wow, how are you going to use beetroot powder? :O I didn’t even know that was a thing!

    1. I still have to rub out the pencil lines but then I’m ready to sew!
      I’ll use the powder as food colouring and maybe for some experiments with self-made blush – I’ve seen reciped using it online but never was curious enough to just order some, and this way I can try anyway. :)

Any thoughts?

