Landesmuseum Hannover: Manmade

I must admit that I was terribly hard to narrow it down to just about 20 pictures for this. I’m an archaeologist so of course I’m smitten with old artifacts whenever I see them but I tried to just pick out the highlights for you.

Landesmuseum Hannover: Menschenwelten | Hedgefairy

The setup of the archaeological exhibition alone was lovely, with back-lit watercolour illustration.

Landesmuseum Hannover: Menschenwelten | Hedgefairy

Landesmuseum Hannover: Menschenwelten | Hedgefairy

I just love looking at various materials marked by time. Finding wooden artifacts like those above is one of the most exciting thing for an archaeologist, by the way, because it makes dating the thing so much easier (and also it’s beautiful).

Landesmuseum Hannover: Menschenwelten | Hedgefairy

Oh Bronze Age. Your designs never cease to amaze me. Isn’t this bowl beautiful?

Landesmuseum Hannover: Menschenwelten | Hedgefairy

Landesmuseum Hannover: Menschenwelten | Hedgefairy

Landesmuseum Hannover: Menschenwelten | Hedgefairy

Landesmuseum Hannover: Menschenwelten | Hedgefairy

I’m always pretty smitten with these kind of ornaments and the flow in the overall shape of the pieces themselves.

Landesmuseum Hannover: Menschenwelten | Hedgefairy

Landesmuseum Hannover: Menschenwelten | HedgefairyI’d absolutely have these in my tea mug collection. I’m always sad when museum shops only carry the usual stuff like postcards, catalogues and the stuff every museum shop has but no interesting replicas or other non-paper things connected to the actual exhibitions.

Landesmuseum Hannover: Menschenwelten | Hedgefairy

This was the only decent picture I was able to take of pieces of the Roman exhibition, sadly. My main field of interest being Roman invaders’ contact with other cultures I think that’s a pity.

Landesmuseum Hannover: Menschenwelten | Hedgefairy

This gamelan set is being played regularly for concerts. The museum also has a Japanese tea-house that is used for tea ceremony demonstrations. I still have to go to one of these!

Landesmuseum Hannover: Menschenwelten | Hedgefairy

Landesmuseum Hannover: Menschenwelten | Hedgefairy

I was really in love with the overall exhibition of Pacific arts and crafts. And the ships remind me of Moana, of course.

Landesmuseum Hannover: Menschenwelten | Hedgefairy

One was supposed to go through the local pre- and early historic exhibition first, I think, but I completely trailed off and took a detour through the ethnological collection… Anyway, the Medieval collection that I finally came back to was really lovely as well.

Landesmuseum Hannover: Menschenwelten | Hedgefairy

Landesmuseum Hannover: Menschenwelten | Hedgefairy

Landesmuseum Hannover: Menschenwelten | Hedgefairy

Landesmuseum Hannover: Menschenwelten | Hedgefairy

Landesmuseum Hannover: Menschenwelten | Hedgefairy

I’m a bit sorry this one got so very archaeology-heavy but I want to go back anyway and hopefully I can bring back some more pictures of the ethnological collection then, too!

Click here for Part 1: Nature.

Any thoughts?

