FinThSat: Lightweight Grocery Bags

Finished Things Saturday is the (usually) bi-weekly counterpart to my UFO Fridays. While there I show you what I’m working on FinThSat is about small finished projects that I didn’t think worthy of a separate post for some time but now just put in this feature. They deserve it! For more FinThSats, look here.

Grocery Bags | HedgefairyIt was my Mum’s birthday last week and because she doesn’t have the time to care about these things I made her a few lightweight grocery bags for loose produce at the super- oder farmer’s market.

Grocery Bags | HedgefairyThe six sachets are made of a second-hand viscose scarf and the ribbons are probably viscose, too, according to my fire test… so they are biodegradable or burnable once they have outlived their usefulness. The only thing my Mum has to do is cut off the seams.

Grocery Bags | HedgefairyThe fabric was horrible to work with, I have to admit. Far too flimsy and slippery. But I think those will not be the last of these bags I’ll make. I already have another scarf thrifted for my own.

2 thoughts on “FinThSat: Lightweight Grocery Bags

Any thoughts?

