DIY Tin Cup Bird Feeder

snowsun (2)It’s been quite a long, cold winter so far and food is harder and harder to find for the bird friends that I can watch from my window. While over-feeding is definitely a thing I don’t think any of our neighbors have a bird feeder so I guess one per eleven-flats house is acceptable.

snowsun (5)snowsun (1)I got the idea from a Pettson & Findus book I’ve had for years – they made theirs out of a flower pot and hung it upside down.

snowsun (3)106_4324I made my feeder from a tin cup I got from the thrift store for 25 cents for this exact purpose – I think there might have been a glass inside it at some point, too. I filled it with a mix of chopped brazilian nuts and peanuts, oats and linseed and filled it up with molten vegetable fat. I put it on some of my fabric twine I pushed a twig in for the birds to sit on and hung it out on the balcony. They haven’t found it yet but they probably will over the next few days.

106_4300That beautiful blue sky is a lie, by the way, or at least a gross exaggeration. Most of today it pretty much looked like the one above, I only caught a tiny bit of blue sky and sunlight for my pictures. (I absolutely adore the snow flurry we get at the moment, though!)

I like this bird feeder solution because it’s easy to make, uses up some of the nuts and seeds I’ve been hoarding and doesn’t produce waste like the feeders you can buy in nets. Let’s just hope my avian neighbors like it!

 

Any thoughts?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.