13 Questions for Halloween

I was tagged by Natz to do this thing, so I did it.

1. Favorite Halloween song?

I’ve got a few of them, yet none of them are “real” Halloween songs, they mere have some sort of creepy feeling or theme to them.
Can’t Play Dead by The Heavy which has a stop-mo video feat. the undead.

Monsterparty by German (back then mostly fun-)punk band Die Ärzte. In summary it’s about a mortal guy attending a party (in a rather simple blanket ghost costume) at Count Dracula’s place getting into all sorts of hijinks. It’s somewhat of a classic with Germans of the more alternative persuasion around my age.

The A Vampyre Story OST written by Pedro Macedo Camacho, soundtrack to a cutesy-creepy pont-and-click adventure developed by Autumn Moon Entertainment and published by Crimson Cow, is my spooky instrumental go-to.

2. Witch or Vampire?

Witch, of course, as it’s always been and always will be. I’m more of a vampire hunter than a vampire myself, even though I find them interesting enough as characters in stories (see Vampyre Story above).

3. Favorite thing about Halloween?

Dressing up! Pumpkin everything! And on a more serious note the Samhain celebrations, of course. I also like the late October weather.

4. Halloween party or scary movie marathon?

Halloween party, I don’t like scary movies.

5. Skeletons or Zombies?

Skeletons, especially if the zombies are supposed to be the contagious pop culture specimen and not the actual folklore beings. I’m strongly opposed to being bitten by a decaying corpse. As far as I know most people are.

6. Favorite Halloween candy?

I wish I could say pumpkin pie, but I’ve never had one (but I think I’m going to make one this season). Trick or Treating isn’t big in Germany so I actually don’t have one.

7. Favorite Halloween movie?

Hocus Pocus
Hocus Pocus, because Bette Midler is awesome and I love the Sanderson Sister’s outfits. Picture by Miles Teves for Creature Features.

8. Favorite Halloween costume?

absinth2

I’m going to be a creepy doll this year, but I really liked my improvised goth-y absinth fairy from two years ago.

9. Favorite Halloween store?

There’s no such thing in Germany, so I’m going with thrift stores. They are where I find the weirdest things to wear and interesting props, too. The rest is spray paint and cobwebs.

10. Jack-o-lanterns, yes or no?

YES! I make one every year, although I switched from edible ones to decorative pumpkin types (you know, the small ones) because I couldn’t bring myself to throwing away a pumpkin’s worth of food every year.

11. Bats or Black Cats?

Black Cats. There’s one living somewhere in my neighborhood. I meet them sometimes on my way back from the grocer. My family also used to have one when I was a toddler.

12. Is Halloween your favorite holiday?

It ties with Yuletide and Mabon so you could say that it’s my favourite quarter of the year for festivities. It used to be, though, before I started to celebrate Yuletide on my own.

13. Pumpkin spice latte or hot chocolate?

Hot chocolate, I’ve never had a PSL (and I always think that PSL looks like the abbreviation of some psychological diagnose).

One thought on “13 Questions for Halloween

Any thoughts?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.